We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff, no free internet in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, great staff, no free internet in room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I chose this hotel based on other reviews and was not disappointed. The staff was great, exceptionally friendly and the room was comfortable, spacious and clean. There is free breakfast on the main floor every morning, lots of choices of hot foods, breads, fruits and cereals. No complaints there. The pool is small (only three to four feet deep) and not really for swimming, just for cooling off. On the third floor. You can often get great rates at the Embassy (less than $100) and it is conveniently located in downtown. There is a street car that takes you around the downtown and Ybor City from noon on most days (check the schedule), and Channelside is within walking distance as well as a supermarket and a drug store.

One complaint: some of the ads for this hotel will imply that there is "free internet in room." This is not completely true -- it costs $14.95 per device for 24 hours. Other reviews warned me of this slight misrepresentation so I wasn't surprised when the staff avoided the subject (I felt for the woman who checked me in, she must have to hear about this all the time). However, one woman gave me a promo code that enabled me to go on for free for an hour at a time which was fine (one person knew nothing about this at all, the other was very helpful but did not volunteer this information until I asked a couple of times). In spite of this, I would recommend this hotel since it is the best quality you will get at these rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeH943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear JoeH943,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am very pleased to read that your expectations were exceeded and to learn that our staff treated you well and you were happy with your accommodations. I would also like to note that in response to guest feedback we have lowered the price of our internet wifi since your visit.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    565
    302
    144
    129
See reviews for
496
392
51
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Check in and out was a hassle. You are required to present a ticket for your free breakfast; no other Embassy Suites I stay at requires this, sometimes you may have to show your room card, but never a separate ticket. Rooms were nice and clean, but housekeeping didn't restock coffee. Previous stays several years ago went much smoother then this visit. I definitely won’t be back to this particular hotel despite its convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cherie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Cherie H,
Thank you for your feedback. We try to make things as convenient and smooth as possible during our dining service hours. We're sorry that our procedures did not meet your needs and are reevaluating our processes to ensure they're as efficient as possible. We hope that you'll consider giving us another chance, should you return to our area.

Kind regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has a great location and friendly staff all around the hotel. Clean and inviting. It is always my first choice when coming to Tampa. I recommend it to anyone coming to Tampa. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Paula B,
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

You can only valet your car here and it is $22/Day - very expensive in my book!! Also, the bathroom left much to be desired... the water temperature in the shower was horrible - either freezing cold or boiling hot and the toilet did not flush properly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Joanna D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown.
I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

Our team at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown makes every effort to deliver upon the high standards we have set ourselves; we strive to ensure our guests recognize the services and facilities we provide as offering a high level of value and a warmly memorable experience. I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay Varina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My Stay at the Embassy Suites in down town tampa was great! The staff went absolutely out their way to ensure I was accommodated entirely. The breakfast was also outstanding and Kudo's to the chef behind the scenes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Christopher W,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the Chef exceeded your expectation. I will be sure to share your comments with him. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Free daily breakfast was good. Staff is courteous and friendly. I thought the maid service was excellent and our bed was made everyday and the room smelled great when we returned. Bathroom is a tad tiny. Small but nice pool area. Easily accessible small Precor workout area, I used the machines everyday. Gym cleaning wipes, face towels, and cold water a plus! Wifi is not free unless you are a member but you can use computers in lobby for free. Parking was $22 per day. Stayed on 20th floor, very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRloveParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear RandRloveParis-

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I visited for the weekend of September 6-8, 2013. We were provided a beautiful room on the top floor of the hotel, along with strawberries and champagne to celebrate our anniversary. We had stopped by the front desk several times to ask for advice/information on boat tours and each time were provided excellent tips and suggestions. The room was beautiful, the view from our balcony spectacular, and everything was VERY clean. The convention center was very close and they happened to have a boat show there that weekend.

Breakfast was great - as with all Embassy Suites. The Managers Reception was nice, but not the reason we stayed here. We will be back though thanks to the great staff and management of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a balcony, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davegolden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear davegolden99-

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. I sincerely appreciate your very kind appraisal of our team, facilities, and services; I know our team members will be equally pleased to learn of your commending remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#31 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing