We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
cooksville, United States
1 review
“Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our view from our hotel was very pictoric. My children totally enjoyed the breakfast, having 4 kids they had a lot to choice from. even though we had a car the public transportation was just outside the hotel. Only issue was that it's start run was after 12 noon. This is one place we plan to return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Abosede A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    485
    260
    116
    98
See reviews for
424
330
44
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Twenty floors with each floor overlooking the lobby; elevators that you can either view Tampa or the inside of the hotel.
The breakfast is nice with made to order omelettes. At night, the hotel offers free drinks and bar food (pretzels, chips, and salsa).
Now the problems:
The carpet in the room was dirty or should I say stained? The carpet did not need to be cleaned, but it probably should have been replaced. There was the imprint of an iron on the carpet and other stains. The carpet to entrance of bedroom was coming up.
There was no place to hang hand towels in the bathroom other than a hook on the back of the bathroom door.
The parking is $22 per day. This is Tampa. The Waldorf Astoria in Orlando is $20 per day.
And as a business traveler this was particularly frustrating: the business center is an afterthought. The printer did not work. There was no tape, staples, or paperclips in the business center. I had to repeatedly go to the front desk for things. I had to email a staff member my documents to print. This is pretty low rent for an Embassy Suites.

And to top it off, when I mentioned my concerns to a front desk staff member, I was told to email my concerns to a manager which I did on June 20. A week later and I have not received a response. That's a bit annoying for a Hilton Honors gold level member.

One of the few bright spots was April when I checked in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawyerboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel tops the bar in great breakfast omelets to order - done quickly and professionally. Entire complementary breakfast was excellent if you don't care for omelets. The managers reception was very high in value with excellent bartenders and limited snacks. In any case, a great job at the start and end of the day!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Every person on staff at this hotel is marvelous. The facility is spotlessly clean, the staff goes the extra mile for it's guests. It was my first trip to Tampa, and I look forward to going back to this location!!! Cheers!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As usual an excellent stay in the Embassy Suites, you can always guarantee clean rooms and excellent customer service. The Managers drinks in the evening is always a bonus after a hard days work! The breakfast is lovely with fresh cooked omelette and an assortment of pastries, cereals and cooked breakfast items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel overall was very nice. Nice rooms and a great breakfast. It was ridiculous that a paying guest has to pay $15/day for internet access and for parking. Much cheaper hotels offer these amenities free. For the price of an Embassy Suites room, these should be included.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the connecting Convention Center. The hotel is very, very nice and the folks were more than helpful. It was a full house so there was a wait a lot for elevators and breakfast line. The breakfast was for sure worth waiting for though. The rooms were suites and very large. The major dislike was the extra $15 they get you for internet. You would think their high room rate would cover this. Nice place. Word of advice, take advantage of the train. It was cheap and very accessible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PastorJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing