We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Next door to the Tampa Bay Times Forum. Super short walk. You are also directly at a Trolley stop which travels thru and stops in Channelside, at the Florida Aquarium and various stops in Ybor City. Service is very frequent and inexpensive (late nights too!). The drawback to this Trolley stop: If your room faces that side of the hotel (Franklin St and Old Water St.) you will hear the trolley all night until service stops.
The hotel restaurant, Trolley's American Cafe, is decent. Fair prices and restaurants.com has some great offers with this place. I had a $25 off a $35 check. Good food and portions. Complementary cooked-to-order breakfast was good as is Embassy Suites trade mark. Starbucks in the lobby which is a nice plus! Coffee in the room is horrible.
Rooms were comfortable and very clean. Nice bedding. Living room area clean and comfortable. I am a smoker and was happy to find smoking rooms offered. The rooms smelled mostly fresh. Windows do not open, so that always sucks when you're a smoker. I always take my candles and Frebreeze anyhow.
Pretty disappointed that they cahrge for in-room WiFi and $20 parking fee. If you are attending an event, this price is worth it. But if just having a night out or a business related trip, this is steep.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Florida Ave or Channelside for a more restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    597
    316
    153
    139
See reviews for
526
424
54
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We used this hotel as our wedding hotel for our guests and our wedding night. The staff was great to work with in setting up all the rooms and making sure the cost was affordable for our guests and us. They gave us a great deal on our room as well since we had so many guests staying there. They were even very understanding when the original block we set up filled up fast and we needed to add more rooms at the same price.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. All of our guests commented on how great the views were from their rooms, and the beds were very comfortable as well. The cost of your room also includes a daily happy hour and free cook to order breakfast which was DELICIOUS!!

Their spaces for events are great. While we did not have our ceremony or reception there, we did hold a brunch in the restaurant which was perfect... home-y and cozy with plenty of space for our group trickling in and out throughout the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review of your visit. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our facilities and staff. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights during spring break at the Embassy Suites Hotel (Downtown Tampa). The room was huge and offered everything you need. Staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I would like to mention Juano from engineering who did a great job to fix the air condition!
For having some inconveniences they gave us the wifi for free.
We had a wonderful view from 19th floor.
The pool area is small but nice and they had always good music on :)

The worst was breakfast! For such a huge hotel, the breakfast area was tiny. People were standing in line for ever for a slice of bread or some eggs and again for getting a table. The floor was soooo sticky that it was difficult to walk on. Waiters didn't clean up the tables and were unfriendly. Even after asking twice to clean up the mess, they ignored us and we had to do it by ourselves!

Room Tip: 19th floor has a grat view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiAtHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Juano was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with him.
We appreciate your flexibility and patience as we experienced during our peak season. Your feedback will help us to reevaluate our staffing levels during such high occupancy so we can be more mindful of our efforts and focus our attention on each individual guest
I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Best Regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was clean but had a slight smoking odor (perhaps rooms around ours was a smoking room). However, the staff was courteous and friendly. The room set up is perfect for families - the kids on the pull out couch and the adults in the bedroom. Also, the location is great - it's close to the cruise terminals, the trolley, and other attractions in Tampa. I would go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. If you feel there was anything more we could have done to improve your visit, please reach out to us directly.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites again for the night of a hockey game. As usual I found it an enjoyable experience. The staff is always friendly and they now have new carpet and tile in their rooms. As for the other reviewers I did not experience anything they are describing. Some people just complain to complain I would assume.
Chris in the restaurant was always helpful as was both Jared and Claudia at the front desk. I have already made reservations for my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake2dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family of 4 stayed 2 nights before boarding a cruise. We loved the great location to many attractions. Our king bed was very comfy, the pullout couch was not my kids favorite to sleep on though! Great views of the city, lots of space in the room. The elevator traffic was only congested a couple times. The check in, like others have said, was painfully slow after a day of traveling, they need more than 2 front desk clerks during peak hours. The breakfast was good and many choices. We enjoyed the heated rooftop pool as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LisaBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay prior to your cruise at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. If your travels bring you back to Tampa we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, FL (ex-new yorker)
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We checked in early around 1:30 and the checkin was quick and efficient. We noticed the lobby and atrium were a bit smaller than most Embassy Suites we have been to. The room was very clean and we were very happy it was very quiet too! We used the outside swimming area
which is kind of unique as it is more of a very big outdoor spa with jets. It was heated which was fortunate as the weather for April on Easter was cool. The Free Managers Reception was like most other Embassy Suites and very nice. Custom made omeletes the next morning were excellent too. Only thing we were not happy with was very high valet parking fee. We would
stay here again!

Room Tip: Left sided rooms have a nice view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edenpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 163 in Tampa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing