We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful layout accessible to night life and the port” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Beautiful layout accessible to night life and the port”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We're locals and decided to enjoy the Tampa downtown nightlife for a a weekend. The Embassy Suites downtown was a great location next to the convention center, the trolley stop, harbor island, the St. Pete Times forum, downtown building and channel side. The room was great - very high up which we loved, but is not for everyone. If you have a fear of heights ask for a lower floor room in this hotel because it has a clear glass railing around all floor walkways surrounding an open atrium over 15 stories high. The elevators are glass walled as well. The room was a corner with 2 rooms and pretty quiet. The pool is small but has a nice deck with a walkway to the convention center. Breakfast was good as usual, but the seating a little crowded. Three is a lobby bar and a themed restaurant "Trolley Station." The actual trolley stop is right in front of the hotel. Be sure to take the trolley to Chanelside, restaurants/bars in Ybor City or through downtown. You can walk to Jackson's on Harbor Island and many downtown spots. Be sure to take the river walk along the Hillsborough River at night - it is very pretty and all of the bridges are lit up. With a little maneuvering you can take it down to Curtis Hixon park - if you are lucky enough to hit it on a concert or event night it will add to the fun! All parking is valet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water unless you like looking at downtown and parking garages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We always enjoy hearing such great comments from our local community. Hope to see you return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    485
    260
    116
    98
See reviews for
423
329
44
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This property is across the street from the convention center and 2.5 blocks from the CAMLS Center. Reasonably priced, good breakfast, and if you are Hilton Honors you can take your breakfast into the restaurant for a little more space and quiet.

This is a cab ride away from the entertainment district, but there are a couple of restaurants in the immediate area and more within walking distance. You can pick up the trolley that will take you the entertainment area for about $2.

The suite was nice and exactly what you'd expect from an Embassy. Sitting area with couch, mini fridge and tv and then a separate bedroom with tv and plenty of closet and drawer space. Staff was friendly and by the nature of Tampa itself, it's close to the airport and there are things to do in the area.

Room Tip: I liked the room I had facing Ybor City and being on a higher floor, especially because the atrium c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShutterbugTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here only one night in 1206, since we were leaving on a cruise the next morning. We arrived about 11pm and checked in with no issues. The lobby is beautiful, all open concept so when you are in the hallways on the upper floors, you can look down into the main lobby. There's a Starbucks in the lobby. The room itself was huge, and so nice. It had 2 huge, plush queen beds, a separate kitchenette area, a nice big bathroom (water pressure wasn’t great, but not terrible), and a living room with a sofa that I believe was a pull out. There was even a dining room table. The building was quiet, we slept like babies, and the view was of the convention center. The Wi-Fi worked great. The breakfast buffet the next morning was fantastic – juices, cereals, fruits, toast, bagels, eggs, omelets, etc. Check out was a breeze, and they even allowed us to do late check out at no fee. If I am ever in Tampa again, I will definitely stay here. The price is fantastic, the location to the cruise port great, and the stop for the trolley is literally, at the front door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely appreciate your comments concerning the attention we pay towards making your stay great and we understand the importance this plays in ensuring your stay experience exceeds your expectations.

Once again, thank you for continuing to chose to stay at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stay in hotels 5 nights a week. Most stays are uneventful. This hotel presented a problem and Raphael Miranda jumped on my issue and absolutely made me a fan forever. He got involved on his own and made sure that my issue was resolved before I left. I sincerely appreciated his concern and problem resolution.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Views are available on all sides of hotel. Looks over either city or bay.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am very happy to read your positive comments about the service that Rafael provided to you. I will be sure to share your kind words with him.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay. The room was immaculate and updated. Beautiful view of the downtown Tampa skyline lit up at night. Will definitely be coming back! Harbour Island just over the bridge has a great brunch at Jackson's and there is a water taxi for a more scenic view of Tampa and the islands.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at Embassy, it will not be my last... It was affordable, clean, comfortable, free alcohol-specific times, and free cooked to order breakfast! Nice! Nice! Nice! You could use HH points, military discount, etc...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursequita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great hotel, great rooms, great drinks and great breakfast, what else could you ask for.
It's a must to anyone getting on a cruise, you could even walk to the port.
Definately recomending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed the complimentary Manager’s Reception and “free, cooked-to-order breakfast”, available at all Embassy Suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Tampa Downtown
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing