We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel, Parking an Issue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perry, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Parking an Issue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is great. I've stayed here a few times over the past few years for weddings, workshops and conventions. Rooms are typical Embassy suites. Nice big living area, and mini kitchen area, small economical bathrooms and nice sized bedrooms. Floor 19, the room we were given for this stay 1910 has a great view overlooking Tampa. The pool on level 3 is very nice and has a great view. The complementary cocktail reception and cooked to order breakfast are great additions for the price. The trolley stop just outside is perfect for hopping on to go to dinner and drinks without having to take a cab and drive. The only problem that I have had with this hotel in ALL of my past stays for the parking. Valet is $25 per day. The line for parking took us 20 minutes just to get an attendant to help. They were VERY backed up. When having our car pulled around by valet we were told it was "first come first serve" and we waiting 30 minutes to have our car pulled around once down at the valet area. They were swamped. Other then the parking situation a nice hotel for a good price and great perks.

Room Tip: ask for a high room 19 and & have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I’m so glad you enjoyed your suite at our Embassy Suites. I apologize that the parking was of concern during your time with us. I’ve brought your comments to our team for review. I appreciate your comments and hope that if you're travels bring you back to Tampa that you will choose to stay at our Embassy Suites again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    531
    273
    125
    112
See reviews for
450
356
49
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was recommended through trip advisor as a place for a getaway weekend before a cruise. Overall, it was a great find in terms of the bang for your buck. Clean, free breakfast, friendly staff, free happy hour (yes, you read that right), and it was close to the trolley line. In terms of a location..it was easy to find, felt like a safe neighborhood, and seemed centralized.

it's NOT the in the nightlife section of town for a weekend, and didn't have a lot of options around for restaurants/bars. (some, just not tons). We were really disappointed in the Riverwalk - there's really not much there. However, that's not the hotel's fault, just a badly publicized, over exaggerated part of Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. Hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. From the valet to front desk and housekeeping everyone smiled and said hello to me. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was good and the managers reception was a pleasant place to relax. I don't know why some people have to complain about free breakfast and free drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake2dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent location on water and adjacent to convention center; close to numerous restaurants. Valet service was so lacking in number of attendants, cars were blocking entrance. Even those there had lead in their shoes. Had to park across street in public garage as hotel has no self parking; not good for security purposes. Front desk staff had no welcoming greeting; didn't even look at me until she handed me my room key. Rooms typical of an Embassy Suite.My room had three different granite tops and edging on each counter. Manager's reception in lobby bar area was like eating lunch in grade school. Lighting was far too bright and tables were lined up like picnic tables. Breakfast service was slow and lack of table seating made it that more unenjoyable. Hostess was really nice. Hotel not worthy of a $200+ nightly rate. Two other highly regarded brand hotels in same area.

Room Tip: Room overlooking bay offers great view lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Great2TravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest appearance and amenities are areas we continually examine. I’m terribly disappointed that you were not greeted with a warm and welcoming smile from our front desk staff. I’ve addressed this with them so this doesn’t happen again. I’m also sorry for the inconvenience with our valet service and have passed on your feedback to the management company. We will surely keep your other comments in mind as we look to enhance our guest experience. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Sincerely,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed at Embassy Suites many times. This one exceeds the standard set by this chain. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The evening cocktails and the hot breakfast is always appreciated. When I saw that my room was next to the vending machine, I had some concern, but could not hear any noise in my room. Great acoustics.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stay in Tampa quite a bit. This is an excellent hotel for either extended business stays or for families on vacation. Every room is a suite, lots and lots of space. The living room is separated by a door - but each has a tv - the couch in the living room folds out into a bed - perfect if you are traveling with one or two kids.

Nice table work space if you there on business and don't want to feel like you are in a cell.

The free breakfast is incredible - an omelet station, pretty much anything you would like for a breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dixiesugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed the complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast available at all Embassy Suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very sad indeed. The front desk agents have to be the worst I've ever encountered. So, so, unfriendly, with zero personality with one exception - Jared. Thank you Jared!!!
The breakfast host the morning of 11/07/2012 was very pleasant. I think her name was Saada.
Such a nice hotel with clean, beautiful rooms and great location. I thank God that the first people I met coming into the hotel were the valet staff and not the front desk staff.
Their shuttle, even within downtown is not free.
Parking, $13/day.
If service does not bother you, this is a very well located and beautiful hotel. Even has a Starbucks on premises and a restaurant with the best flank sliders :)

Room Tip: Nice restaurant at hotel. Avoid the front desk as much as possible so that you can enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service with us. We have addressed your dissatisfaction with our staff. We will also be sure to thank the accommodating staff members you mention. We appreciate you alerting us your concerns and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites brand is known for.

Warm regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#53 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing