We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent rooms, ok value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent rooms, ok value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stay in Tampa quite a bit. This is an excellent hotel for either extended business stays or for families on vacation. Every room is a suite, lots and lots of space. The living room is separated by a door - but each has a tv - the couch in the living room folds out into a bed - perfect if you are traveling with one or two kids.

Nice table work space if you there on business and don't want to feel like you are in a cell.

The free breakfast is incredible - an omelet station, pretty much anything you would like for a breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixiesugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed the complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast available at all Embassy Suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    564
    302
    143
    129
See reviews for
496
390
50
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very sad indeed. The front desk agents have to be the worst I've ever encountered. So, so, unfriendly, with zero personality with one exception - Jared. Thank you Jared!!!
The breakfast host the morning of 11/07/2012 was very pleasant. I think her name was Saada.
Such a nice hotel with clean, beautiful rooms and great location. I thank God that the first people I met coming into the hotel were the valet staff and not the front desk staff.
Their shuttle, even within downtown is not free.
Parking, $13/day.
If service does not bother you, this is a very well located and beautiful hotel. Even has a Starbucks on premises and a restaurant with the best flank sliders :)

Room Tip: Nice restaurant at hotel. Avoid the front desk as much as possible so that you can enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service with us. We have addressed your dissatisfaction with our staff. We will also be sure to thank the accommodating staff members you mention. We appreciate you alerting us your concerns and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites brand is known for.

Warm regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
544 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Dates of Stay: 19-21 October 2012 (2 nights)
We were in town to attend homecoming at University of Tampa and decided to give the Embassy Suites a try. I originally booked a best available rate about 2 months in advance for $179 a night. About a week before, I checked the rate again, and it was now $139 so I rebooked and canceled the original. A few days before arrival, I noticed a prepaid rate for the same type of room for $99. Since it was so close and I was almost positive that I would be going to Tampa, I booked this rate, which I noticed was not available the next day so I might have received the only reservation available at that rate. Before I left Orlando, I called to ask some questions and had to wait 30 or so rings for someone to answer and put me on hold. That should have told me something about the customer service. They told me that UT was 3-4 miles away when I asked about a shuttle, but I knew it was much closer. Since parking was $20/night, we arranged to park on campus for free and walk back and forth the ½ mile of so. There was no special line for Hilton Honors (I am Gold) at check-in or it was unmanned (I don’t remember exactly, but I do remember that we had to wait a few minutes). We were upgraded to a very nice suite on the 19th floor (out of 20 floors in total). I was a little uncomfortable with the open atrium, which made me dizzy. I don’t handle open heights very well although I have no trouble if there is a window or in the elevator. There was noise from some floor work above us, but that was only when we first arrived; otherwise, it was quiet most of the time, and no noise could be heard in bedroom from outside or from the atrium. The first room had a couch, table, and chairs plus a large flat screen TV. Internet worked fine and was free because of my status. I didn’t try in bedroom as some have complained that it doesn’t work well there. The corridor between the living room area and the bedroom had a fridge and more plus a safe in the closet. There were no minibar items except two large bottles of water on the counter. The bathroom was to the right and had a nice tub/shower combo plus toilet and sink. Water pressure and temperature were good plus many nice amenities were provided. The bedroom had another TV plus a large, comfortable bed. The view was towards downtown and was very nice. We could see miles away. Breakfast each day was an adventure. Both were crowded (the second day a little more than the first), but we found a table each day. They had the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and potatoes plus juices, coffee, tea, and a bread station. My main complaint was the set up of the omelet station. There were two stations, but there was no organization for the line(s). The second morning, the station for which I was in line just suddenly closed. The female chef just shut the partition (she must have needed a cigarette or something). I had to get in the end of the other line and start over. The other guy was not happy and was commenting on his co-worker’s training and behavior. She reopened the line soon after, but it was too late for me since others lined up before I could move back. He was under pressure and made my omelet with real eggs as opposed to egg whites as I ordered. He apologized and made me a good one. The first morning, I had two omelets: one from each station, and both were good. My complaint that morning was the lack of knives, but they were restocked once I found someone to tell. The manager’s happy hour was not that exciting. Cheap beer and very few snacks was the offer. It’s worth the price! The second day there were many people watching college football, but this “happy hour” has much room for improvement. Hotel was safe. It was quiet and not very crowded the first night-more in town for professional football game the second night. Half the people at breakfast were wearing New Orleans Saints’ jerseys. A major complaint I had is no shuttle service. The trolley to Ybor City stops at the hotel, and I guess they consider this their shuttle service, but it’s not cheap! They need a shuttle like most hotels of the caliber to take people to the cruise terminals, local restaurants and nearby attractions, etc. Most of the staff was friendly, but the breakfast staff needs more customer service training. Housekeeping was great, and cleaned room very well the one time that it was due. I would stay here again if I could get a decent rate (would have to be under $200). That’s the max I would pay to stay there. Also, if you book here and have a cancelable rate, check again 7 to 10 days out and also a few days prior to see if rates are lower. There’s also a very good restaurant a few blocks north called L’Eden, but make reservations.
In summary, Tampa only has a few hotels downtown. There are others nearer Westshore, Busch Gardens, Ybor City, the casino, etc. so not many options in the center of town. Parking is expensive (was $30 a day earlier in the summer, I think), no shuttle service so must cab, walk, or pay for expensive trolley ride to go anywhere without a car, and breakfast/happy hour have staff training issues plus very limited snacks and drink choices at happy hour. They are both quoted as “free”, but the charge is built in to the overall room charge since nothing is free. There is a Marriott next door. I’m not sure what it has to offer, but its pool looks much bigger and nicer and can be seen from the elevator at the Embassy Suites.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your detailed review will help us make the necessary service improvements as well as reevaluate some of our offerings. I apologize for the service issue at the omelet station and your disappointment with the transportation options. We hope that you choose to stay with us again when you’re in town. We would love to see you.

Warm regards,
Jason Bowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husban and i stayed here a few weekends ago to visit family. and this is an outstnading hotel. the happy hour was awsome there is a starbucks right in the hotel. the pool is on the 3rd floor and its kinda small, but if your right just trying to get some sunt it is perfect! PERFECT location is great 15 min car ride will get you were ever you wanna go. i would stay here again hands down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Last week I visited the Tampa Convention Center area and stayed at the Embassy suites. The hotel was excellent in every way--beautiful, clean, wonderful amenities and very attentive staff! The hotel was right across from the Convention Center where I attended a conference. The area was very new and sunny right on the water. I felt very safe and really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown Convention Center. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Tampa that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Would definitely stay here again - great location, beautiful hotel, Very clean. Loved the suites - very nice! Loved having Starbucks at the hotel. Hotel Staff was nice but valet was more helpful with directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdzd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown Convention Center. We appreciate your kind words and will pass them along to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A nice hotel, situated very conveniently directly opposite the Tampa Convention Center (with a bridge directly connecting both facilities). Well-equipped, functional rooms, lots of space, good bathrooms, cozy beds, two flatscreens. The only thing I don't understand: As an Embassy suites hotel, all rooms consist of both a bedroom and a separate working/living room, which by itself is very nice, but only the bedroom has an outside window with excellent view over the Tampa bay, while the working/living room only has a window towards the hotel floor. I don't need the fascinating view while sleeping, but I would have appreciated it while working at the desk...
Another minus is the large fee for internet in the room.
The breakfast however is outstanding (large variety, excellent quality, live-cooking), and it is included in the rate!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown! So glad you enjoyed your spacious suite and the complimentary “free, cooked-to-order breakfast”, available at all Embassy Suites. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tampa Downtown
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#33 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Address: 513 S Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33602-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Tampa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected via skybridge to the Tampa Convention Center, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale all-suite hotel in downtown Tampa. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception included daily. Next door to the St. Pete Times Forum for Tampa sporting events, concerts and exhibits. The Tampa Cruise Port is also close by for all Tampa cruise departures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tampa - Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing