We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,143)
Filter reviews
2,143 results
Traveler rating
826
652
346
166
153
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
652
346
166
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingamalie arenatrolley stoppretzelsfree happy hourevening receptionmade to order omeletshockey gamemanagers receptionomelet stationfree breakfastvalet servicetampa downtownliving roomriver walkthird floorcruise terminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,788 - 1,793 of 2,143 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just stayed one night while we were in town for a basketball event at UT. Booked hotel for it's location and hilton honors. Was pleasantly surprised at the waterfront location and the freshness of the hotel. Some Embassy Suites are a bit weathered- not this one. Hotel was very busy- a big convention going on. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants, on the recommendation of the front desk. Room was clean, comfy beds and very quiet. Breakfast was a bit crowded, but I assume the convention people had early meetings. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel. Beware of valet prices, no other options.

Room Tip: Our room was facing north, so we had a view of the downtown area, request water view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLeaf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose this hotel on the basis of price plus convenience to a cruise departure. It proved to be wonderful.

The only reason this hotel got bumped down to a 4* was due to the somewhat offish and/or fake front desk attitude and the fact that we had to call maintenance, due to a defective room lock. We always check to ensure that the room is locked upon leaving, and for whatever reason, we couldn't get the door to lock. Once the maintenance guy explained the issue to us, all was fine, but I could not in all good conscience ignore it here.

Otherwise, it's a great place to stay for a cruise. Can also assume it's a great place for a hockey game, and we hope to return for that and a meal at Precinct Pizza at Channelside (sampled this establishment upon returning from the cruise, and found it to be outstanding).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redwolf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We sometimes stay at the Embassy Suites if we get up to a Lightning Hockey Game at the St. Petes Times Forum. There is no better hotel, which is as close to the action than the Embassy suites, if you are going to a hockey game. The rooms are clean, but quite dark, and what I noticed was the dampness of the room.
The rooms are suites which have a small parlor when you walk in, and then a bedroom attached. The only window is in the bedroom. Quite frankly, the rooms are nothing special and the day to day rate is about $260 a night. I picked up a room for $180 once on Hotels.com, but the other times had to pay the $260. You can get an average continental breakfast in the morning, its included. Even with that, I think the hotel is overpriced, you are basically paying for the location, as the rooms are nothing special. I've since moved up to the Holiday Inn in YBor when coming for games, the cost is about $89 per night and they'll shuttle you to the game. The rooms are about the same in quality as the Embassy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotex29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you're in town for a convention is the most convenient and the one to less likely to get caught in a flash rain. Street Car stop right in front so very convenient to YBOR City where there are plenty of restaurants and bars. Centro YBOR is one of the stops on the street car.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmdtmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Embassy Suites Tampa Downtown. As you mentioned, our location is conveniently located adjacent to the Tampa Convention Center via a skybridge and just minutes from great restaurants in Ybor City. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Was happy to again stay at an Embassy Suite as the rooms and room facilities are excellent. We asked for a room with a water view and were not disappointed. We needed internet access and were told that we would have to pay $14.95 per night. Tip - buy a coffee at Starbucks located in the hotel complex and you get free internet for 2 hours, we had the internet access for 3 nights.

I have learnt as "a not very experienced American traveller - that downtown is exactly that - you are in the business district so no fantastic shopping. We were staying at this hotel in transit, waiting for my husband to arrive from Australia so we could begin our family holiday - we had already been in the States for 2 weeks for Jump Rope competitions, so I chose this hotel location thinking there would be lots to do. We took a tram ride to Ybor City and during the day - definately not worth visiting, lots of tattoo palours, bars and not much else. The Aquarium a couple of blocks away is worth a visit if you have kids. As for shopping we went the the International Shopping Mall near the airport - costs about $20 each way, but it is a shopaholics paradise.

All in all would stay with any Embassy Suite - highly recommended - has all the facilities you require, good breaky, gym, laundry even happy hour. Only small downside - the gym was like a sauna - too hot to even workout.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lianne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews