We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
Ranked #121 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Staff is very friendly and the location is great. This hotel has a manager reception Tuesday - Thursday. Room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again when working in the area. I did not have any issues during my stay at this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank bamawolf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review after your recent stay at our Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 421 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Don't waste your money staying at this hotel. In town with 2 friends for Yankees Spring Training, we selected this hotel because of its proximity to Steinbrenner Field. That was about the only good thing I have to say about this property. When we first arrived, we noticed our toilet was running constantly. We alerted the front desk and they said they would fix it right away. We decided to take advantage of the "courtesy van" to travel to International Plaza. Of course the driver wants to go drop someone off at the airport first, ok, no big deal. We quickly learn that the van is a deathtrap with no brakes that almost causes several accidents and then promptly overheats and breaks down on the access road to the airport. We are told to get other at the airport and wait for another courtesy van to come and take us where we want to go. Suffice to say we took a taxi. Upon returning to our room, the toilet is still not fixed. The next morning we have no hot water to shower with, despite trying to take showers almost 2 hours apart. Not luke warm water either, actual ice water temperature. We complain to the front desk about this issue and also report that the toilet is still broken. Of course no one comes to fix the toilet and the next day, still ice water from the shower. We complain again, we are again promised it will be fixed. After night #3, we have the same problems, complain again and we are told that we need to move rooms, but we can only do so at 1PM. We are there to see baseball and are obviously at the game at this time, so the general manager constantly calls me while at the game and argues with me that I need to leave the game and move rooms. She says something about needing to turn the water off to the whole hotel to fix the issue. Upon returning around 4:15PM, we do indeed move rooms. The toilet in this room works, but guess what? No hot water still. Also, they happily move some other unsuspecting guest into the room with no hot water, without really fixing anything. It is now our last morning and still no hot water. I am told by the General Manager that $130 will be taken off our bill of more than $850 for our inconvenience. I reluctantly agree, only to find out later that only $30 was credited. I call the hotel several times trying to get in touch with the General Manager, but she never calls me back. I try IHG directly, they are also of no help. So the bottom line is, if you can find someplace else (really anyplace else) to stay, it would probably be better than this dump full of unhelpful staff members.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest:
On behalf of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay.
I can assure you that the water issue has been resolved
We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. I assure you all issues were taken care of and are being resolved.
We hope you will accept our apology and give us another opportunity to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This location was selected for its proximity to Steinbrenner Stadium. It was not too long a walk even with my bad leg. The free breakfast was fine, but the elevators were slow. The TV channel selection was poor...we missed the Walking Dead since AMC was not provided. Our view of the pool, and pond was very nice.

There was nowhere to eat in the immediate area, which appeared to be affected by a bad economy...large steakhouse next door was closed, and another adjacent building was empty.

Room Tip: 1st floor as the elevator service was SLOW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear djt32,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a lower end HI Express. Room (suite) was not as clean as you would expect from a chain and looked more like a very low end, single star property. It's in a terrible part of town and feels like it all the way around. Breakfast was typical HI Express - ok but nothing great. I was pretty disappointed with the room and just didn't feel it was clean. Bed sheets had hair on them and did not look very clean. I would not stay at this hotel again. There are lots of things around this area since it's close to the airport so find another property if you need to stay in this part of Tampa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

On behalf of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. The Holiday nn Express is looking into upgrating there rooms Summer 2014.. We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I have visited Tampa on several occasions over the past two years. Each and every time we visit we stay at the Holiday Inn Express by the Tampa Airport. We initially went there because of its proximity to the airport, Hillsborough CC and Steinbrenner Field where the Yankees play in the spring, but we're regular visitors because we are greeted and treated like royalty. The rooms and facilities are clean and the staff - especially Felicity - couldn't be nicer and more accommodating.

Room Tip: we have slept in each different section of this hotel and never had a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice review after your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Tampa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations, especially regarding our front desk clerk Felicity. She is GREAT!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is in need of serious updating. Our room had a huge stain in the carpet right as we entered the room. Then another stain in the carpet by the lounging chair. The lounging chair ottoman also had a stain on it. The room was grungy. We would not recommend staying at this Holiday Inn. The shuttle bus that took us to the hotel was filthy and had a cracked windshield.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank novimichigan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Please let me start by thanking you for your feedback. In the Summer of 2014 this Holiday Inn will start replacing carpets & mattresses, followed by the updating of all room furnishings. We are very excited & look forward to having you come back and see the upgrades. As for the van’s windshield I have called to replace it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The rooms in the hotel were quite nice but the toilet didn't flush properly and the shower water was not always hot. One elevator was Out of Order for most of our three night stay and part of the stay had both elevators not working. I wonder how disabled patrons would have managed that. The ice machines were only on the second and fourth floors and on one evening there was no ice in the machine on the second floor. This gave us quite a run around being on the third floor and the elevators not working. The outdoor pool was not heated and quite cool but the biggest disappointment was the cold outdoor hot tub which had a sign indicating that the water was 104 degrees! The pool equipment was rusted and broken. There are heaters on the property for the pool/hot tub but they were not working. There is a green area just beyond the pool area at this hotel which has such potential for beauty with water, green space and many birds. However, it is poorly maintained and is more of an eye sore. Also, being a Holiday Inn, I expected more quality items at the breakfast bar. It was more like a Days Inn breakfast than a Holiday Inn breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jannygirl595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Jannygirl595,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is regrettable that this stay was a disappointment on several aspects most especially with the condition of the pool facility and amenities being a disappointment. Your feedback is helpful for us to consider what we can improve on to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, we thank you for writing us a review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
2.6 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#40 of 164 in Tampa
1,781 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center Tampa
3.4 mi away
Tahitian Inn Hotel Cafe & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel

Address: 4750 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614-6509 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - Tampa Stadium Airport)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $60 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Tampa Stadium Hotel Airport area. We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legends Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees. Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum are just a 5 minute drive. Tampa Stadium Hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 6:30 am and 10 pm. The Tampa Stadium Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free continental breakfast, high speed internet access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph's Hospital, General Motors, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing