We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs significant updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
Ranked #115 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs significant updating”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in need of serious updating. Our room had a huge stain in the carpet right as we entered the room. Then another stain in the carpet by the lounging chair. The lounging chair ottoman also had a stain on it. The room was grungy. We would not recommend staying at this Holiday Inn. The shuttle bus that took us to the hotel was filthy and had a cracked windshield.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank novimichigan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Please let me start by thanking you for your feedback. In the Summer of 2014 this Holiday Inn will start replacing carpets & mattresses, followed by the updating of all room furnishings. We are very excited & look forward to having you come back and see the upgrades. As for the van’s windshield I have called to replace it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    106
    86
    59
    65
See reviews for
108
112
38
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russell, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The rooms in the hotel were quite nice but the toilet didn't flush properly and the shower water was not always hot. One elevator was Out of Order for most of our three night stay and part of the stay had both elevators not working. I wonder how disabled patrons would have managed that. The ice machines were only on the second and fourth floors and on one evening there was no ice in the machine on the second floor. This gave us quite a run around being on the third floor and the elevators not working. The outdoor pool was not heated and quite cool but the biggest disappointment was the cold outdoor hot tub which had a sign indicating that the water was 104 degrees! The pool equipment was rusted and broken. There are heaters on the property for the pool/hot tub but they were not working. There is a green area just beyond the pool area at this hotel which has such potential for beauty with water, green space and many birds. However, it is poorly maintained and is more of an eye sore. Also, being a Holiday Inn, I expected more quality items at the breakfast bar. It was more like a Days Inn breakfast than a Holiday Inn breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jannygirl595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Jannygirl595,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is regrettable that this stay was a disappointment on several aspects most especially with the condition of the pool facility and amenities being a disappointment. Your feedback is helpful for us to consider what we can improve on to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, we thank you for writing us a review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had nice one night pre-cruise stay here. They fully booked, at least partly as a result of cruise activity (there were 50 in our group staying here). We needed two beds but they were not able to accommodate us -- something about a locked reservation because of the group booking. That was a bit difficult for us, but they did provide us a roll-a-way which actually worked out fine. We had needed to check in a bit early but they were not able to accommodate us. Their check in time is well stated on their reservation so we could not complain, even if we were inclined to. The room was very nice and the buffet breakfast was good. Their airport shuttle was efficient and they also did a good job of getting us all to the cruise ship the next morning. Not sure about the comment here describing a musky smell or bad mattress. There was no such complaint from any of our group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. With pleasure we read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that we were able to accommodate your group & for clarifying the musty smell or the comfort of our mattresses at our property. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Best regards Your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Airport Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Check-in process was fine, desk clerk was nice enough. Room was "ok" but the beds need to be replaced - felt like sleeping on a very old mattress. Room smelled old and very musty.

Tried to ask several different cleaning people for more towels but none of them spoke any English at all; so needless to say, we didn't get new towels.

Cups for coffee in dining room were out - asked front desk clerk if someone could show us where more were or to get us some - the answer was "I don't know"...end of story.

Dining room had no eggs both days we were there and again, no one spoke any English so was not able to ask or tell anyone that there were no more eggs.

Booked room for two nights - received a call asking "how long I extended my stay for". I explained that I didn't 'extend' my stay and that I was there for two nights only. Confused?

Was sitting out front when the 'courtesy van' pulled in - they should check those driver's as the guy driving the van was going so fast, I'm surprised the people inside the van didn't fly through the front window when he stopped. And when he pulled out, he was squealing the tires. Glad I didn't need to use that service.

I have always been a fan of Holiday Inn hotels - guess this one just isn't what I'm used to and will definitely not be coming back to this one.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twohazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Tampa, especially for mentioning the Experience with the van transportation We are reviewing the Van drivers & will address the issue with each and every one of them, We look forward to seeing you again soon, Please allow us second oppertunity and win back your confidence in the brand.

Thank you managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful, and we entered our room quickly. Room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The welcome snack at 5:30 was a nice surprise. However, there aren't a lot of eating choices to walk to near the hotel. The Papa's Diner down the street worked well--very down home. The airport shuttle was 20 mn late arriving. Was it from habit or traffic? The same shuttle picked us up one week earlier...also a bit slow even for 8:30 pm at night. I'm thankful I asked for the shuttle pick up 30 mn earlier than needed. This kind of timeliness could get some people to their plane late.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Tampa, especially for mentioning our very central location. But sorry to hear of your Experience with the van transportation due to high occupancy we can run up to 30 min late.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've stayed at this Holiday Inn Express about two dozen nights over the past six months and our experience has been excellent each time. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is varied and tasty. While this is not a 5-star hotel, it is certainly a good value for the price. They have renovations scheduled for spring of 2014 but it appears they've already begun to do the work in some areas such as the bathrooms. Occasionally, we've received an upgrade from a king room to a suite. The location is convenient to the airport, football stadium, restaurants, and most major highways. We've never had a bad experience or disappointment with our reservations or rooms. Would recommend this location for travelers just passing through or staying a few days for special events.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hotel response:
Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express , especially for mentioning our very central location. We are delighted to hear that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I travel 30 weeks a year across the Southeast. This trip I was greeted by Felicity at the front desk. This is the first time I've met or worked with her. Her attention to customer service, professionalism and energy were a refreshing experience.

Felicity made me feel confident I had made the right decision to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport.

Congratulations to management on hiring someone who is so good with people and her job.

Steve from Maryland

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

With pleasure we read your comments and will certainly share them with our staff ( Felicity) Thank you very much! Looking forward to welcoming you soon again. With best regards Your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
1,490 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites South Tampa Airport
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
3.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel

Property: Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
Address: 4750 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614-6509 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - Tampa Stadium Airport)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Tampa Stadium Hotel Airport area. We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legends Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees. Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum are just a 5 minute drive. Tampa Stadium Hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 6:30 am and 10 pm. The Tampa Stadium Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free continental breakfast, high speed internet access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph's Hospital, General Motors, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing