We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay - but they were busy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
Ranked #114 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Magna, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice stay - but they were busy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had nice one night pre-cruise stay here. They fully booked, at least partly as a result of cruise activity (there were 50 in our group staying here). We needed two beds but they were not able to accommodate us -- something about a locked reservation because of the group booking. That was a bit difficult for us, but they did provide us a roll-a-way which actually worked out fine. We had needed to check in a bit early but they were not able to accommodate us. Their check in time is well stated on their reservation so we could not complain, even if we were inclined to. The room was very nice and the buffet breakfast was good. Their airport shuttle was efficient and they also did a good job of getting us all to the cruise ship the next morning. Not sure about the comment here describing a musky smell or bad mattress. There was no such complaint from any of our group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Melba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. With pleasure we read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that we were able to accommodate your group & for clarifying the musty smell or the comfort of our mattresses at our property. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Best regards Your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Airport Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    102
    81
    56
    58
See reviews for
103
105
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Check-in process was fine, desk clerk was nice enough. Room was "ok" but the beds need to be replaced - felt like sleeping on a very old mattress. Room smelled old and very musty.

Tried to ask several different cleaning people for more towels but none of them spoke any English at all; so needless to say, we didn't get new towels.

Cups for coffee in dining room were out - asked front desk clerk if someone could show us where more were or to get us some - the answer was "I don't know"...end of story.

Dining room had no eggs both days we were there and again, no one spoke any English so was not able to ask or tell anyone that there were no more eggs.

Booked room for two nights - received a call asking "how long I extended my stay for". I explained that I didn't 'extend' my stay and that I was there for two nights only. Confused?

Was sitting out front when the 'courtesy van' pulled in - they should check those driver's as the guy driving the van was going so fast, I'm surprised the people inside the van didn't fly through the front window when he stopped. And when he pulled out, he was squealing the tires. Glad I didn't need to use that service.

I have always been a fan of Holiday Inn hotels - guess this one just isn't what I'm used to and will definitely not be coming back to this one.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twohazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Tampa, especially for mentioning the Experience with the van transportation We are reviewing the Van drivers & will address the issue with each and every one of them, We look forward to seeing you again soon, Please allow us second oppertunity and win back your confidence in the brand.

Thank you managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful, and we entered our room quickly. Room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The welcome snack at 5:30 was a nice surprise. However, there aren't a lot of eating choices to walk to near the hotel. The Papa's Diner down the street worked well--very down home. The airport shuttle was 20 mn late arriving. Was it from habit or traffic? The same shuttle picked us up one week earlier...also a bit slow even for 8:30 pm at night. I'm thankful I asked for the shuttle pick up 30 mn earlier than needed. This kind of timeliness could get some people to their plane late.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Tampa, especially for mentioning our very central location. But sorry to hear of your Experience with the van transportation due to high occupancy we can run up to 30 min late.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've stayed at this Holiday Inn Express about two dozen nights over the past six months and our experience has been excellent each time. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is varied and tasty. While this is not a 5-star hotel, it is certainly a good value for the price. They have renovations scheduled for spring of 2014 but it appears they've already begun to do the work in some areas such as the bathrooms. Occasionally, we've received an upgrade from a king room to a suite. The location is convenient to the airport, football stadium, restaurants, and most major highways. We've never had a bad experience or disappointment with our reservations or rooms. Would recommend this location for travelers just passing through or staying a few days for special events.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CK1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hotel response:
Dear Valued Guest, thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express , especially for mentioning our very central location. We are delighted to hear that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I travel 30 weeks a year across the Southeast. This trip I was greeted by Felicity at the front desk. This is the first time I've met or worked with her. Her attention to customer service, professionalism and energy were a refreshing experience.

Felicity made me feel confident I had made the right decision to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport.

Congratulations to management on hiring someone who is so good with people and her job.

Steve from Maryland

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

With pleasure we read your comments and will certainly share them with our staff ( Felicity) Thank you very much! Looking forward to welcoming you soon again. With best regards Your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
211 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed one night pre-cruise at this Holiday Inn Express. It seems to be a well-used property, but our room was clean, breakfast was typical HIX chain fare, and we had no complaints. That’s pretty much all I require on a quick stay.

But I absolutely have to commend this property for outstanding customer service. From the minute I called for the shuttle from the airport I was impressed. Felicity assured us the shuttle was on the way and then called to follow up and make sure we found it. Our wait for the shuttle was quite reasonable, and our driver (Steven?) was an excellent and pleasant driver. Later we asked for a ride to a nearby restaurant and were accommodated with a smile.

When we checked in we were asked if we were taking a cruise and if we needed transportation to the pier. We said we would need a taxi and Felicity told us the hotel shuttle would take us for a much more reasonable fee and reserved our spot for the next morning. Wow. This saved us a bunch of money, and right then we decided that we will stay at this hotel before our next cruise too!

So, if you are looking for fancy, luxurious accommodations, this isn’t your hotel. But, if you are looking for five-star customer service… this is it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites. With pleasure we read that you appreciated your stay and the services provided by our staff ( Felicity).I have told her of all your kind comments. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa Airport will be upgrating all rooms in 2014 & we are looking forward to your return visit
With best regards. Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ripped curtains, rust in the bathroom, inadequate number of towels, poor TV reception, freezing hallway, and apparently not enough water pressure to accommodate everyone with hot showers when the hotel has a lot of people staying there. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likehiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya F, General Manager at Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of Holiday Inn Express & Suites, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not providing you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our hotel). We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. As the new General Manager I will insure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
4.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#71 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel

Property: Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel
Address: 4750 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33614 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - Tampa Stadium Airport)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Tampa Stadium Hotel Airport area. We are the closest Tampa hotel to Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Legends Field, the spring training site of the New York Yankees. Our hotel is close to Tampa International Airport (TPA) and Westshore business district. Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, the Convention Center and St. Pete Times Forum are just a 5 minute drive. Tampa Stadium Hotel is also close to all attractions such as Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Tampa Aquarium and MOSI. We offer free shuttle service within 3 miles, between the hours of 6:30 am and 10 pm. The Tampa Stadium Area hotel is a non-smoking facility featuring our free continental breakfast, high speed internet access and business center. Our Tampa hotel also offers 7,000 square feet of meeting space and full-service catering facilities and our peaceful setting on our own private lake is the perfect location for exchanging your wedding vows. Unwind at the end of your busy day at our outdoor heated pool and spa or in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Corporations located nearby the hotel include Hertz, St. Joseph's Hospital, General Motors, Lear Corporation, General Electric and FEDEX Corporation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tampa Stadium Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Tampa Stadium Airport
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing