We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tampa Firefighters Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Review Highlights
What a surprise to find downtown.

Old Firehouse No 1 is full of memorabilia and history. Great place to take kids or plan a meeting... read more

Reviewed January 13, 2019
316enricos
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
Homeschool Trip was Awesome!

It's sometimes hard to find a field trip that works for preschool through high school but this one... read more

Reviewed October 1, 2018
ESW_TT
,
Temple Terrace, Florida, United States
Read all 11 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tampa
from $29.99
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
from $29.99
More Info
from $12.95
More Info
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
7
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
3
0
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 11 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We came to the firefighter museum with family. My kids and their cousins enjoyed seeing the old firehouse and all the old equipment. Their great grandfather, who worked in the firehouse back then, was able to join and show the kids where he slept and was basically our tour guide. It was a great thing for him to share with all the kids and he was glad to remember the place and people he used to work with. This activity was free, but we gave a donation. The people are friendly and we were able to go across the street to the new firehouse and the firefighters there were kind enough to show us the trucks. It was great for the kids.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank LindsayNjoe429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

The museum is in an old firehouse and right across the street from a new one. The exhibits are nice - old fire trucks and equipment. I found the old communications system for reporting and responding to fires fascinating. My four year old found the map on the floor showing the current firehouses fascinating. To each his own. They do have a pretend firetruck for the kids to play in complete with firefighter jackets and hats. The guide was very knowledgable. Admission is free but parking nearby ran about $6.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Sfladiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017

My wife was in Tampa for a conference so I was looking for something to do. Being a firefighter this was a must. Located in the original 1900's brick firehouse that was saved from demolition by the firemen that called it home. Call ahead to make sure they are open since they also host events. Lots of fire department history in this building. I spent about an hour and a half walking and looking... Not to mention chatting with the staff. They also have a place to buy Tampa Fire Rescue apparel and keep sakes. This is a free place to visit but I do recommend making a donation since they are not supported by the FD or the city.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank joeyjamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2016 via mobile

I am a firefighter and was sooooo looking forward to this place. The people who keep this place going are very friendly and knowledgable. The museum itself there is many years of tools and equipment they could have but don't even come close.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank wolfman1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this free museum today. Took my three year old and he loved sitting in two different fire trucks and playing pretend . They have fireman dress up clothes as well. It's a small museum, but it is very interesting especially if you have someone giving you a small tour. Very beautiful inside. Nice way to spend an hour to an hour and a half for free or a small donation.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank NinaM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews