We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STINKY room !!! Poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds
Ranked #72 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Warning!! If mold / mildew smell is a problem DO NOT stay here. We tried putting the a/c on high and the odor got much worse.
Also, the shuttle service to the casino is NOT reliable. They tell you they run every hour but it's only if it's convenient for them. We waited a half hour for our shuttle only to find out that the driver was waiting for a guest to finish their drink. WHAT? Be there when you say you'll be there.
Employees need customer service training!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Star13154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Star13154,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is most disappointing to hear of your overall dissatisfaction and we are deeply sorry you found the room and the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 194 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

when I first checked In I wasn't sure that this would be the hotel for me because the front door was blocked by other vehicle's and I had to wait 10 minuets to get around them then my door keys would not unlock the back door and i had to walk around the building but by the time I left I'm positive I will always stay at this hotel great hotel staff the young lady who worked the front desk was great for her age she seems very Intelligent I believe her name was Laura or Laren took great care of us along with the bald head fellow who works the shuttle at night.In the morning we had breakfast which was ok typical hotel food great location to the casino and a shuttle both big plus's

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We wanted to get away for the night and chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Hard Rock Casino. We asked them to put us in a room that was quiet because we just wanted to get a good night sleep. They agreed and put us on the other end of the hallway away from the elevator. The room was clean, The only complaint I have is that despite four calls to the front desk and a personal visit, little was done to quiet down the people in the room next door. They had at least six people in the room, yelling at 10:30 at night. We ended up packing our things and going to the front desk basically saying change our room or we are leaving. We were given a smoking room and told it was the only one available and if we chose to stay despite my allergies, we would have to " figure it out." It was right next to the elevator! So much for a good nights sleep! Like I said, the rooms were nice and also the breakfast food was great but the front staff did not have much bite when it came to complaints about their guests. We should not have had to move when we complained 4 times about the people next door. We called corporate and got our money back for the night. Not our usual way of doing things but needed to do it this time!

Room Tip: Have your room facing the rear of the hotel as the ones that face the front have big spot lights shi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Derrick L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I deeply apologize for the poor service experienced from our hotel staff and the problems you encountered with the level of noise from the other room. However, we are glad the issue was addressed in a timely manner. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel was ok. Had great location next to the Florida State Fairgrounds and had a shuttle to the casino. Felt the hotel wasn't kept very clean. Everytime you got on the elevator there was dirt on the floor. If you looked at the corners on the floors they were dirty. Room was average-needs a little updating. Room was clean though. Free breakfast and internet. Overall average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebcgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear rebcgo,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location convenient and the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stay at many HI express and this is an average property. We were allowed to check in early, which I much appreciate, room was in a quiet lower corner, and very clean, comfortable. Clean pool area, good location to casino and other Tampa attractions, interstates. A bit questionable location a few blocks away, be careful. Nice breakfast, cheeful staff, but a little overpriced I thought for a weeknight, not even at a holiday time. I could see how this could be a noisy place on a weekend, with a fairgrounds event or casino crowd. But I would def stay again during week, not sure about a weekend though.

Room Tip: upper floor, corner if busy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnytanner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

I am a Platinum Member with Priority Club and generally stay at Holiday Inn or IHC branded hotels. I had won tickets to a concert at the Fairgrounds and decided to use some of my points to stay at this hotel because it is right across the road. BIG MISTAKE.

This hotel clearly caters to the concert and casino crowds. Halls smelled of vomit and alcohol. The common areas were disruptively noisy. The room that my wife and I were booked into smelled very musty. When we arrived back at the room following the show, we found mold on the wall, the bed, and the other furniture. One of the stairways had puddles on the landing; water was clearly leaking in the ceiling of the stairwell and there is mildew and mold throughout the stairway.

On the positive side, we left around midnight and they did not charge me for the stay - I can only assume that is because 1) I am a Platinum member and 2) I vehemently insisted that they not charge me one dime.
We ended up driving to Clearwater to a hotel that I KNEW was clean and affordable.

This place should NOT be a Holiday Inn; it is more in line with Knights Inn and Motel 6.

Again, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: This is a no-brainer; book a room at a different hotel. There is a La Quinta next door; try them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Tim H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and being our valued Priority rewards Platinum member. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We sincerely apologize for the condition of the hotel and room accommodations you received which was less than satisfactory. However, I am happy to read we have addressed the matters in a timely matter. Your comments have been passed to the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Fantastic hotel experience, friendly & helpful staff, upscale amenities, and everything I could possibly need during my 6 day stay in Tampa. The hotel is spotless & well-maintained, many resources available & luxurious surroundings. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend ! They've thought of it ALL !!! Special thanks to everyone at the hotel ! You're an efficient team who go above & beyond !!! I especially appreciated the attention of the front desk staff. They greeted me each time I arrived or departed & asked if I needed anything. Keep up the good work ! It all matters so much. WOW !!!! Lynne R, Biloxi, MS

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneR3820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds - Casino
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa East/Brandon
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds-Casino
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds

Address: 8610 Elm Fair Blvd, Tampa, FL 33610-7361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $157 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairgrounds/Casino is located across from the entrance of both the Florida State Fairgrounds and the Mid-Florida Credit Union Amphitheatre. We are also only a half mile from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino and offer complimentary shuttle service to guests visiting there. We are conveniently located off I-4, less than 5 minutes away from I-75. If shopping is your pleasure, we are easily accessible to Brandon Town Center mall (7 miles), Westshore Mall (12 miles) and International Plaza (12 miles). With easy access to I-75, I-4, I-275, US 41 and US 301, our guests are minutes away from all area attractions and points of interests. Our rooms either feature one King Bed or two Queen beds. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, business center, and great breakfast with signature cinnamon rolls. We also have a few rooms with special jacuzzi tub for some extra relaxation after a great day in the Bay area. So whether you are in the area for the Fairgrounds, Raymond James Stadium, the area Beaches, Busch Gardens, or taking in an event at the Ford Amphitheater, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Fairgrounds is the STAY SMART location to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa/Fairgrounds/ Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing