We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a Big City Urban Neighborhood Vibe”

Catch Twenty Three - Tampa
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch Twenty Three - Tampa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Linebaugh Ave.
Description: Catch Twenty Three restaurant infuses its creativity with flavorful Latin and Caribbean influences served up in a casual, upscale setting. Island music is carried by cool breezes throughout the restaurant, which has the look and feel of a tropical resort dining room. Mouth watering aromas emanate from the pecan wood grill such as the Certified Fresh Seafood, Certified Angus Beef or Cuban Style Baby Back Ribs.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Has a Big City Urban Neighborhood Vibe”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although located in a far west Tampa suburban planned community, it's a mixture of upscale apartments, single-family homes, shops and eating places; it feels like you're in a cosmopolitan area with a lot of walk-up traffic, bicyclists and shoppers. The outside sidewalk seating is the first to go when the weather's nice and here in Florida, that's most of the time.

The seafood is terrific and very attractively presented. I have an appetizer I order every time: Lobster Escargot. They place six large chunks of lobster meat on an escargot plate, drench them in garlic butter, cover it all with grated cheese and then bake it. I can't even begin to tell you how much better it is than snails!

Everything else is good too. The bar staff is talented and often very crowded and the servers are quite competent and friendly. Ya gotta love this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    63
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, Great deals!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Me and my wife saw a groupon about Catch 23 and decided to check this place out. On Thursdays they have a great special going on: A 10oz New York strip steak, w/ potatoes and cajun green beans for $11. Couldn't beat that deal with a stick! We both loved it! Also for appetizers we had Blacken beaf tips(Great choice) and Lobster tempura roll(Good too). For drinks we had red sangrias(ok-will pass) and Reverse margaritas(wow-strong-yesss). Our waitress was Miss Carlma, she was nice, as well as all the other servers who spoke when they passed.

From what we understand almost every day of the week they have phenominal specials going on. I loved the decor and the atmosphere as well. The outside area is nice and comfortable as well! The crowd was either family or 30-60 yrs old. People that was celebrating a birthday seem liked they were having a great time as well! Very good neighborhood, with other eateries around. We definitely will be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat area”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This resturaunt is set in an awesome eclectic part of town and has a very large variety of foods to choose from. The beverages were well mixed and the wait staff was very professional. I got the chicken with goat cheese and was very impressed. I also enjoyed the ambiance of the resturaunt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abt8883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy hr sushi!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I lived within walking distance of this restaurant and visited it frequently. Every day they have a different deal (burgers, sushi, steak) all relatively cheap. They post a sign outside but the servers rarely mentioned it so be sure to ask.

I always got the chicken with goat cheese or the sushi and I was never disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hard to find good seafood in Tampa, oddly enough. But the food here is great. Not too sure about the sushi, but just as happy with the experience as the first time we came 4 years ago!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholeHSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch Twenty Three - Tampa also viewed

 

Been to Catch Twenty Three - Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing