We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YBOR Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This was a good hotel with the exception of the confusing front entrance off 7th Ave. We stayed here prior taking our cruise. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the port and a $5 dollar tip covered the 4 minute drive. YBOR city itself is a crazy place on a Saturday night. It is in walking distance from the hotel, even at night. I'm a cop and didn't feel naked without my gun. Highly suggest eating at Fresh Mouth restraunt, 5o's style diner. Lots of different shops on 7th Ave and if you're in the mood for a tatoo or cigar you'll be in heaven. I would steer clear of the cross-dresser though. Overall, go place to stay pre-cruise. Taxi service from the airport is a flat-rate of $25.00 versus $20.00 per person on the Super Shuttle. The room was spacious and had a comfortable bed. I would ask for a room that overlooks the port (nothing fancy though) better than the view of the vacant building on 7th Ave.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAPTORS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMYbor, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

Thank you for such an indepth revue. We love when our guests get to experience all that Ybor City has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Tampa.

Becky Fox, Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Tampa/Ybor City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

My husband & I went for a little weekend getaway. We had never been to Ybor City & we were happy to see a Hampton Inn there. We try to stay at HI's when we travel. It was clean, had a fabulous bed, breakfast was included and the staff was extremely attentive. We enjoyed walking through the historic district and took the electric streetcar to the Florida Aquarium and the Channelside area. We also enjoyed dinner at the historic Columbia Restaurant that was within walking distance. The nightlife was great for people watching. We also saw a movie at Centro Ybor. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolindajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMYbor, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

We are so happy that you and your husband had such a great time while visiting us. Thank you for all of your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.

Becky Fox, Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Tampa/Ybor City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

If you are planning your 4 or 5 day cruise from Tampa, consider this hotel for Cleanliness, Value, Free Shuttle to Port, Discount Tickets to Busch Gardens, Great Nite Life for young and older adults, Free Complimentary Breakfast, Excellent Service, Etc.. Kudos to BRYAN CLANCY (Manager). When making my travel arragements, I founded it was cheaper to arrive a day earlier and leave a day later when booking a flight for my family of four, also less stressful when timing your flights. So the kids got to go to Busch Gardens Tampa, twice (Your Second Visit is Free) Do some shopping, site seeing and relaxation, to make for a wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jauhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMYbor, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2009

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are always thrilled when our guests are completely satisfied.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,
Becky Fox, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My husband and another couple went down for the SEC tourny last week. We stayed in Ybor at the Hampton Inn. I was very impressed! The rooms were clean and nice, Very nice staff, and I felt very secure and safe. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the best of both worlds. Ybor and channelside. The troley station is only steps from the hotel door to take you to channel side. You can purchase round trip ticket for 5.00 dollars. Ybor night life only steps away in the opposite direction! It was such a great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene_eh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the nightlife in Ybor City. Hotel is a typical Hampton Inn Property and everything was as expected.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

The room was very clean, comfortable and big.
Plus,complimentary breakfast, internet, and shuttle bus!
Definently worth the money.
My husband and I had a good time here!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AbbyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesYbor, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2009

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Excellent beds, excellent front desk staff and close to many restaurants. They offer complimentary shuttle to/from the port, what is very convenient for cruisers.

Breakfast is average for a hotel in the US, very similar to the comfort inn breakfasts.

It would be nice to have a free shuttle to/from the airport... we paid 40USD for a taxi, kind of expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xanapoppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,468 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $123 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing