We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is Key in this great area of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Florida Aquarium Package
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service is Key in this great area of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We make at at least one yearly trip to Tampa and had not stayed in in Ybor up to this point..... after disembarking from our cruise ship in Tampa, exhausted, we decided to bite the bullet and pay the extra 30+ to stay right there in Ybor. Now this may be our official favorite hotel! The beds are incredibly comfortable, the rooms have kickin' AC with individual thermostats, down pillows, clean and spacious. What really made the stay excellent was the staff- they were attentive, friendly, and sincere! They also have a decent breakfast and coffee selection in the morning. My favorite parts was the free shuttle that would take you all around Ybor and the fact that check out isn't until NOON! I recommend James Joyce Pub for a pint and some delicious Irish food, or the Columbia down the way- make sure you RSVP at the Columbia for the flamenco dinner show if you go (don't just assume because you have a dinner reservation you have a show reservation- we learned these are not one in the same).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wexford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

7th Ave. in Ybor City has a lot of energy! Lots of fun. The Hampton Inn on 7th is a great place to stay. Clean rooms, extremely helpful staff, nice outdoor pool - the temp in July was 93 during the day. Nice big breakfast room with an excellent selection of food items.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

great stay -good breakfast-superb staff -clean rooms decent location in very old section of Tampa. Easy walk to food and drinks- shuttle service very quick and will take you to various locations. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future -easy access to Tampa general hospital and the riverfront.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank broy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The front desk staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. This hotel is very convenient to the Tampa Port. They had a package deal including one night stay, buffet breakfast, free parking and a free shuttle to and from the port. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank susang7302014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Moved here from the HGI, Airport, Westshore. I've stayed at the HGI Yboy and wanted to change locations. This is a nice hotel, nice staff but again....just not what Hampton used to be. They say breakfast is up at 0600 but I leave at 0605 each day for work and they shoo you away from the area and with no other option....the grab and goe's are never out when I leave. Thats fine, I can stop somewhere for breakfast but its out of the way so I have to wake up earlier. Also, like Westshore, they seem to only provide housekeeping every other day. What is with that? .... constructive input...... clean the filters on your vacumes...the room smells like a vac bag. I went and bought lysol to make it smell better. I'm actually not normally a picky person but I can't remember being disappointed in Hampton/HGI/Hilton stays EVER... this month.... kind of am. Coming back in October to stay in Hilton downtown for a Bucs game...hope thats a better experience. As far as location this is perfect. Nice little pool. Nice little fitness center and so easy to walk. Ybor is a marvelous little community and I love it here.

Room Tip: Ybor is a great little town.... best place to stay in Tampa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjhench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I received more than I had expected by way of service, amenities, professionalism, food, parking, and the best coffee station. We were greeted by Angela who took care of our registration and explained to us about the breakfast area, coffee station and more. The shuttle service was to gem of all, we had no idea that that service was available to us. The drivers were great in picking us up to get us to the convention center on time. One morning Mike came in early to ensure we made it to our opening meeting. We were taken to restaurants that provided the best food ever. I highly recommend this hotel for reasons mention above.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is my 2nd review of this hotel and it's still great!

We returned today from an excellent stay at this Hampton Inn. We came up from Naples for a 1 night stay to enjoy the 4th of July in Tampa with our 2 boys. We have stayed once before at this location and knew we would feel safe, even in the heart of Ybor City which becomes quite the party scene at night. We even walked back from Channelside after viewing the fireworks, since it was only a mile walk, and walking with a group felt safe. We felt even safer when we stepped inside the lobby.

The beds were signature Hampton Inn- extremely comfortable. Everything about the room was nice and there was plenty of room to spread out. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast and clean and bright breakfast area.

One of the best parts was the complimentary shuttle service. Although I don't remember the name of the young man who drove us to the Aquarium, he was very responsive to our request to be taken there and was happy to chat with us along the way.

All of the front desk staff was always friendly and quick to greet us every time we came in to the lobby. They all seemed happy to work there and the friendliness never seemed forced.

Overall, continues to be a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nessz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing