We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Great valued hotel in sketchy part of Tampa. Ybor Square right there so felt safe with the tourists. Big, clean room. Didn't like the overflow parking lot location, relieved our car wasn't broken into. At least our parking fee was waived when I complained about the broken glass in the lot.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rdpecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    318
    121
    29
    21
See reviews for
195
321
79
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, VT, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Convenient, clean and friendly. Second stay in Ybor City as it is close to my daughter's apartment. Staff is well informed, conscientious and helpful. The breakfast buffet is a real deal and the morning staffers are gems. Listed the local restaurants open on Christmas eve and day...very thoughtful for out of towners. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Wow, this place was very disappointing. First, we requested a non-accessible room in our request and of course we were booked in a accessible room.
Next, we pulled the duvet back and there were no less than 5 to 7 hairs and peanut skins in the bed. Additionally there were yellow stains on the sheets.
When we called to complain, the front desk never apologized and just said we will send someone up with new sheets. When they came to the door, they tried to had me the sheets to put them on myself. I asked them to put the sheets on. The maintenance person that they sent up put the sheets on the bed and never even tucked them in or made it properly.
Please do not stay in this dump!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDZeigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and services. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Paul G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I thought the Hampton Inn YBor was great value hotel that was clean, safe, quiet and close to the historic downtown with a helpful and friendly staff that were willing to go the extra mile to make my stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

First stay was in September. Took train from Deland to Tampa..hoping it could be a good way for us to cruise out of Tampa Bay. We stayed for 3 days and had a blast..visited all over and the comp shuttle runs a 3 mile radius from hotel, and they even picked us up at train station. EVERYONE was so helpful and friendly. The rooms were recently done and were very nice. Micro, frig and coffee in room. Stayed again in December for cruise..picked us up again at train and yes they remembered us..took to cruise in morning and came back again after cruise.. Left luggage at hotel as train did not leave till 5 pm.. Walked around Ybor city and had lunch at Hamburger Mary's. Took us to train@ 4:30... What a great way to travel . The entire staff at this hotel were just wonderful . Could not ask for more. Again thank you so much..we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great place to park for cruise vacation, free shuttle back and forth, low price, secure parking. In the heart of Ybor city great food, lots of entertainment. recommended local restaurants are the Columbia for dinner, Lunch at Carmines, the world's best crab cakes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for one night after a show at the Ritz. The front desk staff was a little disorganized at check in, but the rooms are clean and parking is reasonably priced. There is a guest laundry on the 4th floor. Recommend Row Boat a few blocks away-great Greek food!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#13 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing