We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in Tampa/Ybor City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Titusville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Tampa/Ybor City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would stay at this hotel any day. I have stayed in numerous hotels, motels, cabins, etc.. This hotel hands down is one of the best you will ever find. Its location makes it key. You have so much to do around this hotel between food, clubs, the train station, etc. Its worth the stay.. I truly enjoyed my Jacuzzi/whirlpool suite..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    341
    125
    34
    21
See reviews for
217
347
82
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kennesaw, ga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a clean hotel with great service.The complimentary breakfast is average. The safety percautions are very good. I would highly recommend this hotel for parathyroid patients who are having surgery at Tampa General Hospital.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank gap144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

For a value for money hotel, you really can't go wrong here. My whirlpool room was spacious and comfortable. But for someone who travels a lot there were quite a few service issues that disappointed me and are worthy of mention.

The housekeeping staff had a habit of removing towels (including those I had hung up) and not replacing them. When I got to the bare minimum, I did ask for some more and in what could be a scene from a comedy film, two staff arrived separately, each with a bundle of towels, that eventually left the room overflowing with the things.

One afternoon, at about 4.30pm, I returned to my room to find that housekeeping hadn't been. I called down to the reception to be told that housekeeping was provided up till 5pm, but that they would check, as it looked to me as if my room had been missed. I popped down to the foyer to give the cleaners free reign. They did eventually turn up and completed the cleaning in double-quick time.

It was while I was waiting down in the reception, that I decided to have a cup of coffee from the large flasks that were there. The coffee was stone-cold! I could see some American guests taking their cups to the microwave in the breakfast area.

The air-conditioning unit was quite noisy. Luckily the evenings weren't too warm, so in the end, I decided to turn it off at night.

Neither of the computers and printer in the foyer worked all week. There was a sign informing guests that they were out-of-action, but this implied it was only a temporary issue.

The free WiFi service was OK, though - in an apparently random manner - you'd be thrown off without warning and prompted to sign back in again. The duration between interruptions would vary from a few minutes to a few hours. This was more of a problem with my laptop, rather than my smartphone.

I mentioned I had a whirlpool bath. This was great, though draining it was problematic, as the weight of the water kept forcing the plug to settle back down. In the end, I had to put a used coffee packet under it.

Take care with the toaster at breakfast. With no guide as to what is a suitable level, it's easy to burn your bread. I would recommend setting it to no more than level three.

As I said at the outset, if you're looking for value for money hotel in a good area - there are lots of great dining options for starters - then this is a good base. If I return to the area, I think I will try out their sister property, a few blocks away - the Hilton Garden Inn - to see if the levels of service are more consistent and reliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations during your last stay. Our goal is to always ensure our guests are satisfied with their service experience, hence we take all feedback very seriously. We genuinely value your loyalty to our brand and sincerely hope to welcome you back to our property next time your in the area. Please contact me at 813-247-6700 as I would like to learn more about your stay and make sure your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Paul G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel was a little older but well kept. Prices were reasonable, desk clerks were helpful, room was clean. There is an $8 charge for parking, and the lot has very sharp turns that a larger vehicle would be unable to make.
The shuttle service is excellent and I suggest using it. The hotel is right at the end of the Ybor city area and there is about two blocks of deserted businesses before you get to the restaurant / club section. You don't want to be walking this area after dark. We walked to the restaurant the hotel suggested (no problem) and then walked back at about 7:30. We were panhandled aggressivly, one of them following part way back, frightening my wife.

Room Tip: Whirlpool rooms are located next to the maid's service rooms on each floor. Early morning noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel renovated nicely, but the smell in our room made us both sick by the 2nd day. The walls are thin and we heard everything our neighbors had to say... at 3am. If you are on a budget and don't mind a sinus infection at the end of your stay, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank the_real_Jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

While recovering from thyroid surgery, I stayed in the Hampton Inn for 3 days. I was pleasantly surprised the day before surgery when I explored the Latin Historic district. Everything was close enough to walk to, but a shuttle is available for free transportation to shops and restaurants in the area. I ate at the Columbia restaurant (about 10 blocks away) and the food was AMAZING as well as the wonderful atmosphere. They have authentic Flamingo dancers (free) and the energy was great...service was too.

When I returned from dinner at the Columbia Restaurant the first night, there were warm, fresh out of the oven chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. YUM. The next day was my surgery. They arranged for rides to and from Tampa General Hospital When I got back from surgery I was quite weak an unable to walk by myself. The shuttle driver walked me to my hotel room (not his job) and literally would have probably carried me if I'd asked! It gets better...That night, still in pain, still groggy, I called the front desk to see if they had one of those yummy cookies. They didn't....all out :-( An hour later, someone knocked on my door and when I opened it, the shuttle driver (different person) had 4 home made warm cookies for me!!!! How kind, how unexpected, how wonderful... I would recommend staying here to anyone. Prices are fair, beds are super comfy, and rooms have refrigerators, microwave, flat screen TV, wife fi internet, etc. Above all, the staff is kind, efficient and well....AMAZING.

Room Tip: My room was a 2 bed (queen) standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn while a family member was a patient at Tampa General Hospital. The staff was cordial, professional and very helpful. I parked my car at the hotel, but used the hotel shuttle to visit the hospital daily. The shuttle drivers were friendly and very punctual. The complimentary breakfast was delightful and bountiful!! This is a great place to stay - I hope to come back again for a visit with no hospital involvement!!
Lynne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing