We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place to Stay Before a Cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay Before a Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night before our cruise. Had a great time in Ybor City. The shuttle to the port was quick and efficient as was the pick up after the cruise. We left our car in the hotel's covered parking area and it was fine. Good value for the convenience it offers cruisers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank botoxrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    341
    125
    34
    21
See reviews for
217
347
82
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed at the hapton inn in ybor city, florida because they were close to the cruise terminal and they offered an amazing deal of stay and cruise. our car was left there for an entire week and when we got back it was just fine. We loved the room and the location and will be back again to stay and explore Ybor City!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank LeiLaniOchoada73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a excellent place to stay ,I would return and also I will be telling my friends and family to stay there.The staff was so helpful from the door to the desk, housekeeping ,and Breakfast room.Very clean and just Beautiful and relaxing room very clean . If you stay here you will not be dissapointed....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the best that Ybor City has to offer. All the staff was friendly and accommodating, the hotel seemed brand new, the bed very comfortable and I felt totally rested next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank High A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ST LUCIE, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great value for a hotel with great location. Easy access to restaurants and entertainment without the congestion of Tampa. As a female traveling alone I felt very safe and was able to work from the hotel without any internet problems. Room was modern, comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I was glad to see you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This property is a pimple on the face of the Hilton Hampton Inn franchise. Although the Managers on duty tried their best to accommodate, I think they were truly embarrassed by the staff that works there. So, I'm not faulting the Managers on Duty...they were the only professionals in the house and I thank them for their efforts.

However, the staff (housekeeping, security, breakfast) were abominable!

First, my room was never attended to (outside of simply putting the duvet cover back on my bed): garbage was never removed, bathroom left unattended, coffee maker & cold/hot cups left without replenishment, etc.

Second, the hotel is on the edge of the trendy Seventh Avenue night scene, near some Youth Centre with nasty street urchins acting like little punks (I got sprayed with some beer by one); and in the hotel, some teenyboppers were all over going to other floors of the hotel when they were obviously not guests (a room key was necessary to operate the lift)...and where was security? Stuffing his face and chatting with some folks in the eating area, looking at something with these guys on their iPads.

Third, the icing on the cake: went for breakfast (breakfast is included with the room rate) the next morning...the serving area was a shambles - waffle batter all over the place, waffle machines inoperable, coffee urns empty, scraps of dried up food left, and no staff in site. I muttered to myelf, "ENOUGH!" I had breakfast at a nearby eatery, coming back later to make yet another complaint and the MOD was resting (heck, he was pulling a double shift and made to work on a night his religion prohibits) and when I told the front desk person about the teenagers milling about, all I got from her was, "kids will be kids"

I left (no, RAN!) to another hotel in the Hilton family a few blocks away. So bottom line, if you want a nice place close to the action of Ybor City, yet far enough to have a nice quiet evening...THIS AIN'T THE PLACE!

Room Tip: book at the Hilton Garden Inn instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richiedix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I do want to truly apologize for the problems you experienced with the room cleanliness, breakfast & security. I can assure you that I have spoken to my Director of Housekeeping and Operations Manager regarding your stay. As the new General Manager here I will take the steps to correct these issues immediately. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm a Hilton Honors member and I travel for business frequently, more so in the Tampa area. I always seem to gravitate towards the Hampton Inn family which is why I chose this hotel but what a mistake! First, the location was questionable, in a "seedy" area of town with alot of creepy looking guys hanging out in front of run down businesses. I was checking in after a long day of meetings and arrived around 7:30pm--the parking is a disaster with not enough spots in the 2 level ramp and it was hardly lit in the area I had to park. The front desk staff was rude which surprised me for a Hilton property and unlike all other Hilton hotels I've stayed at I wasn't greeted as a Hilton Honors member which is a "no no". The room had been smoked in even though my reservation was for a non-smoking room and everything inside the room was worn out and dated looking. In the morning I skipped the complimentary breakfast and got out of there as soon as I could and definitely will never return. Oh, and be prepared for the $8 they charge you to park your car.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesun021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I truly apologize we did not meet your expectations. I certainly appreciate your feedback in helping us improve our hotel. This is my 1st week as the General Manager here and feedback will help us improve our property. I hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your business. Please contact me directly at 813.247.6700 and ask for Paul (General Manager) as I would like to talk more about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing