We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is a little gem especially if you are going on a cruise. Very friendly service, small but well maintained pool, free shuttle to ships. The rooms are nicely done and very clean. It is at one end of Ybor City, but still a nice walk to the restaurants and clubs. One note: Ybor City nitelife is a little to the wild side, so if you are easily offended, this may not fit your plans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted to break up our drive to our vacation in Sanibel Island by visiting historic Ybor City and dining at the Columbia restaurant. We chose this hotel because of the value and our satisfaction with other Hampton hotels. We were not disappointed. Every staff member we met from the desk clerks to the maids were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and nice. We really enjoyed the fact that the hotel offers free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius. This allowed us to enjoy the sights of Ybor City without having to use our car and worry about parking. We did not encounter any of the problems mentioned in some of the other reviews. Area was safe for walking and hotel is close to everything in Ybor..... really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff is able to keep up the great service standards of Hampton Inn, and are more than willing to provide information about the area. The hotel is clean and well-managed. Ybor City is a very interesting historic section of Tampa, and worth the stay. Not a lot of Florida communities can provide the walkable old-world atmosphere of Ybor. Sort of like a mini French Quarter. The parking fee is understandable considering the urban location. It takes a little doing to figure out the location, with one-way streets and some construction in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Clean and quiet, even with the remodeling going on. Staff was courteous. Location is close enough to all of the attractions to walk, but not to close as to bring the night life to the front door. parking is a bit tight, and sparse. so if you plan on venturing out later in the evening by way of vehicle, expect to probably have to park on the street or in one of the exterior lots when you get back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alphonso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The service was excellent, it been a while since I had such a friendly energetic person greet me with both true enthusiasm and genuine concern about my accommodations and stay. The hotel is located in the heart of Ybor City and offers a large variety food, culture and history. I will make it a point to stay for every visit in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for a business trip with some coworkers at the end of June 2013. I was fully satisfied with my stay and I must say all of the staff were very accommodating and friendly. After 2 long days of a conference the great beds and powerful hot showers were a treat!
I had a great time kicking back and relaxing at the local eateries and bars after hours during the week day. We scored with a great hotel in a convenient location within walking distance to what historic Ybor has to offer.
Oh and the breakfast was great too!!!! With my next stay I need to try those cookies I keep on hearing about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My older brother and I had to stay at a hotel due to unexpected circumstances and were welcomed by the night auditor and security. They were both great and we had a very pleasant stay! Thanks to Bonnie for a great smile and personality when checking us out :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Brittney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $111 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing