We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay with good shuttle service and great breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in this area- or for those getting a cruise. The rooms were great and the free wifi was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    341
    125
    34
    21
See reviews for
216
346
82
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickens, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Myself and friends stayed here last week before an upcoming cruise. The hotel itself was great. Everything was clean and the rooms were above average! The free breakfast was also really good. The desk clerk, Bonnie, however; was a different story. She was hateful and sarcastic everytime we came in contact with her. Everone else on staff went above and beyond to help us. When we returned from the cruise I called the desk to ask about the shuttle back to our vehicle and cringed when Bonnie answered my call. She was, once again, rude and sarcastic when I asked my question. I really wish I could give this review the 5 stars the hotel deserves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kim P,

We are very happy to hear you found our hotel to be great. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Please be assured that we will follow up internally with the employee you mentioned as we get great feedback from our guests regarding her. Whether it was an off day or not I apologize that the interaction produced such a negative response.

Please contact me directly on your next visit to the Tampa area. I would be happy to personally arrange for your accommodations.

Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Ybor City not only is in a fun location, but the cruise and park special makes it a great deal! I stay here whenever I leave out of Tampa for a cruise - it works out so well! I stay and enjoy the sites of Ybor City for the night, then take the hotel shuttle to the cruise port and back. My vehicle is parked in a safe location and the convenience is unbeatable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in April for one night before I cruise,the location could not have been better.the hotel is at the end of the strip filled with restaurants Bars and clubs anything you need it's here.now back to the hotel the rooms were a nice size and very clean the staff was very helpful with things to do where to eat and so on.then in the morning the hotel shuttle takes you to the cruise port that only takes about five minutes to get to the port is that close to the hotel.so go have fun and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWJERSEYSCOTTIEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Ybor City this last weekend.

We were in town for a concert and had heard that Ybor City is a fun place.

First, Ybor very exciting with LOTS of dining and bar options. On a weekend night the scene is a little young for us. For a younger couple it would be great.

The Hampton was like every Hampton. Clean, a good value, and friendly. We were especially that the noise and excitement of 7th Avenue did not spill over to the Hampton. Our room was quiet and calm and exactly what we wanted.

Breakfast was free and worth every penny. Parking is skimpy and the odds are good that you may end up parked on the street.

The bottom line is that we like Hamptons and would stay at this one again. We also agreed that the next time we are in the Tampa area, we will staying on the Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was very pleased with our chose. Very helpful staff. Forgot flat iron and was driven to drugmart to purchase another. Enjoyed Ybor street. Ate at the Buffalo Wings for dinner which was a popular spot and good food. Just a walk up Ybor. Free shuttle was nice to drugmart and port.
Very well scheduled and just a short time to get there. Quiet. Again nice to have breakfast included beginning the day. Love the fact that duvet covers are changed! : ) I am a Hilton Honours member and it's nice to rely on the same basics. Beds are always comfortable!
Dust Bunny rating: 4*dusters*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dust_bunny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The people were very nice and I had a nice quiet stay. Limited parking though. Should be free because of that difficulty. Otherwise the room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. I only stayed one night so I didn't get around to using the internet or tv but the shower was easy to use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sylver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 East 7th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing