We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, no Internet access, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The receptionist on the night shift was Rude beyond words. She would not smile under any circumstances and seemed very upset that we interrupted her personal phone call with our check-in. Once in the room we realized that the Internet access was lousy: it was incredibly slow and would drop every couple of minutes.
On the plus side, the location is very good for all things Ybor City and the staff in the day shifts was reasonably friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Go with the lower numbers, they are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear EJS,

We apprecaite you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We apologize for the conduct you experienced at our front desk and we will follow up internally to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are happy to report that our internet bandwidth is being increased at this time and that our internet speed should be much faster very soon.

Please feel free to contact me personally on your next visit to the Tampa area. I know we can do better at displaying Hampton hospitality.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked this hotel without knowing Tampa. As with most Hampton Inns it was very clean, the staff hospitable and the rooms very comfortable. The Ybor City location was a pleasant surprise for us. We spent several hours checking out the area. Bought a couple of cigars, there looked to be several fun bars in the area and it looked as though the area really could come alive at night. Not in the mood for my first tattoo at 54 I didn't check that out. We felt very safe in the area even at night. Parking was inexpensive, convenient and secure. Our reason for stopping in Tampa was to visit Bern's Steakhouse and it was a $15+ tip cab ride.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Another fine weekend staying at the Hampton. Easy to get to and everything is right on 7th street. This is a great location and the staff is great. This is the second time I've stayed there this year for parades. Will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff is excellent and friendly. The place is really clean. I had reservations at another hotel and ended up unable to stay there. I was giving this hotel from the hospital patient services. The shuttle service was great and a huge savings. The shuttle drivers were very prompt & kind. The breakfast was good and the woman overseeing breakfast was sweet & more than helpful. All though this hotel was further than some others, I'm glad I stayed here. Very Good Job!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huffmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only stayed one night here, but had an excellent experience. The location was extremely convenient to the restaurants, bars, and shops along 7th Ave. We walked to dinner at the Columbia Restaurant (also a great choice in Ybor City!), stopping for a drink at a bar on the way. Everyone at the hotel - from front desk, to housekeeping, to breakfast buffet staff - was extremely friendly and clearly focused on providing authentic customer service. Room and hotel were clean and quiet, and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. We will definitely return to this hotel if/when our travels bring us back to Tampa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWalsh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The beds were very comfy...I travel a lot and sleep is important when I get it! The location was perfect and the staff was very nice. I was in Ybor for a business trip so we had the luxury of using one of the two conference rooms. Lunch was delivered at noon and the staff was so friendly while setting it up. Our drinks were constantly replenished. Honestly, a great stay for a personal or business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived and was impressed by Brittany who checked us in. She was warm, genuine and had her full attention on us. I am leary of older hotels in older cities and expected a tired run down place. Not so! We loved the room, (King bed suite with whirlpool) and every thing every where was very clean. We met a couple who were staying prior to going on a cruise. They told us they always stay at this Hampton when they cruise because of the service. We experienced the same~ every employee we encountered was very friendly and accomodating. The management should be very proud of their staff! My only complaint: Christmas is over, so replace the arrangement in the front lobby! Lol!

Room Tip: King suite with whirlpool!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,470 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Le Meridien Tampa
#18 of 163 in Tampa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $119 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing