We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
634 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just arrived back home from the Hampton Inn @ Ybor City and thought our stay was excellent. The hotel is exceptionally clean and a nice safe area of town. We travel a great deal and this was the 52nd night hotel stay for us this year and we highly recommend this Hampton Inn.

The front desk staff was outstanding and pleasant and made many suggestions for us to do or eat. They have a complimentary breakfast and the hostesses taking care of the food room was so very pleasant as well and always spoke to us each morning and took an interest in our day.

We had 2 rooms and came with our 4 grandkids along with friends with their 2 grandkids and yet everyone at the hotel did everything to make our stay a great one. I also want to thank the manager, Stephen Nunez for going out of his way to have the pool area for our use during some renovation that was going on.

I must also mention the complimentary shuttle and how very pleasant each driver was that catered to us and shuttled us to/from the Amtrak station, dining places within a 3 mi. radius and to/from the Florida Aquarium during our stay. You gotta love that perk.....:)

Ybor City would be alot of fun for the party crowd on a Friday-Sunday but excellent for kids during the week. They have a super arcade, a movie theatre, FL Aquarium and kids art museum that you can get into for $2.00 on the first Tuesday of each month.

The hotel is real handy if you are taking a cruise out of the Tampa Port Authority. I would recommend staying before or after your cruise and the hotel will shuttle you complimentary to the port.

Room Tip: Free shuttle service from the hotel within a 3 mile radius. Excellent to take the Amtrak to Ybor Ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    329
    123
    32
    21
See reviews for
204
336
81
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a few problems at check-in and they promised us an upgrade but couldn't deliver which was very dissapointing. They need much more seating in the breakfast area, the pool left much to be desired, the walls in the room were very thin, the a/c was loud, the elevators took forever and the staff was not friendly at all! Besides those issues, the room seemed clean for the most part besides some dust in the bathroom, very good location in Ybor and parking was convenient and cheap. I would say if you're drunk from partying in Ybor and don't notice anything then stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize a complimentary upgrade was not available for you. Due to unexpected maintenance problems we could not accommodate you in one of those rooms. It was disappointing to learn of our lack of service but we will share your feedback with all of our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We know we can do better!

Please contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss a return visit to our property. I am confident a future stay will display the Hampton service and accommodations our guests have come to expect and enjoy.

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night and there are lots of great places to eat in Ybor. The hotel was clean and efficient. Breakfast was good it was a buffet not much choise but good enough. Free tea and coffee all day

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonShell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn from 7/31 - 8/2 for work. The first room I was given wasn't cleaned. I did my usual bed bug inspection (which they past!), and saw a huge red (dried blood color) stain on the mattress of the 1st bed. The 2nd bed had hair on every level (duvet, flat sheet, fitted sheet, mattress pad and on the mattress). I immediately went to the front desk to ask for another room. He apologized and gave me another room. The 2nd room was better and clean and also passed the bed bug test.

Around 6pm that evening, I hear this tapping noise. I thought it was children running around in the next room, until I noticed a "rhythmic" pattern...It was my neighbor having sex and their headboard was knocking into the wall, which made my wall shake too. This happened again the next day at 10 and this morning 8/2/12 at 2am.

I'm all for people having sex and doing what they need to do, but DAMN I really do not need to hear it or see my walls shaking. Yes I could have complained to the front desk (but didn't want to seem like a prude), but I was worried about being put in another dirty room or having another neighbor louder than the last.

Needless to say I will NEVER stay at this location again. The parking lot is sketchy at best. No clear sign as to park unless you pass the building and see the "small" sign in the corner window telling you to park behind the building and around the block.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank offdahuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We apologize for the lack of cleanliness in your first room. We conduct regular room inspections that are scored on a 1000 point basis and share these inspections with our staff and supervisors. Clearly we dropped the ball with the first room you were given. Although I was happy to hear that the second room was clean I would like to follow up with you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at 813-247-6700.

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This review has several pros & cons, so stay with me....Our group of 8 stayed at the Hampton Inn Ybor City on July 7, 2012 before boarding a Carnival cruise the next day. We chose the Hampton Inn because Hampton Inn properties are usually very nice. The biggest negative thing about our stay was this: Imagine my surprise as I'm pulling onto East 7th Avenue and it's very ghetto, to the point that I didn't know if we'd be safe staying there, but at this point what choice did we have? Lose our money & possibly not find another hotel at such late notice? One of the first pro's is that the parking deck we were able to leave our cars in was an enclosed, covered parking garage, so we felt better about leaving our vehicles there all week. We checked in and had three rooms. Two of the three rooms were as promised (king non-smoking). The other room was supposed to be non-smoking as well, but it had definitely been smoked in very recently, although I could tell they had tried to deodorize the room. The view from our room was a parking lot with some shady characters hanging around. My teenage son looked out the window and started singing the theme song from the television show, "Cops". The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful & even brought us up a roll-away bed soon after we called down & requested it. Having a shuttle service was nice & convenient. There were several restaurants within walking distance, but since we didn't feel safe walking back after dark, we took the free shuttle that takes you & picks you back up within a 3 mi. distance. We also used the shuttle service to take us to the cruise terminal the next morning & to pick us back up after our cruise. The drivers were very prompt & professional. The full breakfast the next morning was delicious, hot & had a good variety to choose from. The furniture in the breakfast/sitting area is dirty and very worn, especially the couches. There were alot of respectable looking business people staying at this hotel (which did make me feel better) & people going on the cruise, so you'd think this hotel makes enough money to keep their lobby nice. There was even a shady looking guy who came in off the street & used the computer in the lobby (meant for guests) for quite a while. He could've been a guest & maybe I was hypersensitive at that point, but he came in thru the front walkway & back out the same way. Overall, after we got settled, I felt safe and our stay was fine. I was glad it all worked out ok since we had driven 8 hours & definitely didn't want to search for another place to stay. I would probably stay there again because of the convenience to the cruise terminal, shuttle service, & provided parking garage. It just would've been nice to have known ahead of time what kind of area to expect & I'll definitely make sure the only thing I'm "packing" is not just clothes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank faithfultwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great location in Ybor City/Downtown Tampa. Easy to walk to restaurants and nightclubs in Ybor city. The hotel provides free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius from 8AM to 9:30PM. They took us to the famous Columbia Restaurant with their exccellent 45 minute castinet show.

My only complaint is they ran out of bananas on Sunday. Otherewise the complimentary buffet breakfast was very good.

We arrived on the Amtrak Silver Star train from Delaware. The shuttle will pick you up and return you there since it is so close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Came here for dinner and a concert. Location is excellent-just enough out of the way to not be bothered by too much traffic, yet close enough to walk to local hot spots, plus hotel provides some transportation. Room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittlemeLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing