We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2 Night Stay before Cruise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2 Night Stay before Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked the hotel over 6 months in advance. I had done my research and requested a 3rd floor so noise from above wouldnt be an issue. I requested the building closest to the pool - Building 100 and was told on two different occasions that shy of a natural disaster we would get our request.

Upon arriving we were put in a completely different building over looking the parking lot. Definately not what we requested. When talking with the front desk they pretty much said, unless you want to move farther from the pool & restaurant that was all they could give us. So booking way in advance and calling to confirm original booking 1 month in advance did absolutely nothing for getting us the room we were told we would get. There was no natural disaster.

The room was fine. Kitchen was clean and large and had just enough of everything for 4 people. Livingroom and bedrooms were clean. Washrooms were very clean. Lots of towels.

Headed to the restaurant to check it out and we were really glad we did. Everyone was so friendly and very helpful. Food was A1. We ate all meals there. Breakfast buffet was also very good. Restaurant staff from waitress (i think her name was Linda) to Michelle and the Chef. Chef came out and spoke to one of our travellers about food allergies and was very reassuring that she would be looked after and was.

Pool was perfect and hot tub was great too.

For the value, no other place can top this. Would definately go back and spend even longer. Great location (noise of planes during the day but you got used to it quickly).

Would very much recommend it even though we didnt get what we asked.

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room, no noise from above. Try to get a front facing room. Air conditioners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamasoncrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    70
    36
    42
    33
See reviews for
94
44
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed here 3 times. It is a decent property for corporate meetings ect. Location is good, close to airport and veterans expressway. But it is a bit dated. Rooms are in need of a renovation, old tv's and bathroom fixtures. They are apartment suites which are very nice size. I know they are in the midst of a renovation which is desperately needed. Property is large and spread out which is good and bad

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigvin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When i first arrived the reception area/restaurant/bar was welcoming. Since I would be there for over a week I checked out my room before accepting. I was not happy so they immediatley moved me to a more suitable 2 bedroom/2 bath unit with a view of the small lake area. My stay had several issues that were all immediately worked out at the front desk where service is excellent. They are undergoing a large renovation so I would make sure to check out your room location but I will definatley stay there again on my next visit to Tampa. For the price of a downtown hotel room you can have a suite with a full kitchen, nice pool and restaurant area and very convenient to the airport

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the little lake. it's quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHarleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here 1/5/13 in building 800. It was very nice, clean although showing some wear and tear. There was a sign on our fridge saying this suite was going to be renovated in the next few weeks, even so it was still a nice suite. The water pressure is AWESOME (this is good for long thick hair like mine) and the towels were soft and plenty of them. The staff were very nice and always polite. We ate the breakfast buffet they offered and all the food was very good. We always felt safe and were very comfortable leaving our vehicle in their gated community for the duration of our 7 day cruise. The driver who drove us to and picked us up from the port was a really nice guy and very friendly. Will definitely stay here again when sailing out of Tampa!!

Room Tip: There are no elevators to the 2nd and 3rd floors of the building so if you are disabled it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

First, the positive: the place was absolutely clean. This is not a "normal" hotel.It's a former apartment complex repurposed as a hotel. We got a non-renovated room but saw mentions of ongoing renovations. The suite had ancient television sets with poor picture quality and the furnishings seemd like something straight out of the 80's. Very, very dated interior decor. BUT, it WAS clean, there was an abundance of space in the rooms. Once the renovation is complete this is probably a nice, roomy option - especially for families!

Room Tip: Definitely seek out a fully renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Real_Carolina_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

First would like to point out that these are APARTMENTS not just suites as stated in the hotel name. Actually, the whole place resembles a gated apartment complex. For long stays this was verrrry homey and safe feeling!!
So, pros:
1. Check in took about a half a minute. It was like they knew we were coming. Fast and friendly at the front desk was welcome after our long drive! 2. Apartment was very big and decently equipped with pots and pans for 1-3 basic eating people. You could not make a huge meal here, but spaghetti was doable :) 3. Close to the airport and downtown. Not close to Busch Gardens, but perfect for what we needed. 4. Clean and safe area.

Cons - noise - we were slightly bothered by the landing planes which seems to happen starting at 6 am every morning. I'd suggest earplugs.

Overall, we were very happy here. We got a great deal for our stay so we couldn't really even complain about the noise.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pros:Full kitchen, spacious room , nice lobby area and fast check in and out
Cons:Kitchen only has two pots, no cooking utensils ,fridge is old and rusty , floor stained, cabinets dirty; bathrooms are nasty , stained floors and counters , rusty , moldy , toilet dirty . overall a super dirty place.Rooms has no blackout curtains, only has some blinds that permits lights to go in,no free wi fii (available at a cost aprox $10 per day).Beds are comfy but you cannot sleep.Carpet is old , dirt , broken,and stained.The first floor corner unit is untolerable considering the noise level if you are assigned a first floor corner unit get out as soon as possible I guarantee you will not sleep unless the place is empty , or the upper room above you is empty. Obviously that was not my luck. I can tolerate the airplanes landing sound, i can tolerate car alarms beeping in front of villa, I can tolerate the barking dog near, but the noisy staircase next to the villa with people getting up and down and worst of all the safari of mammuts over my ceiling was annoying..The steps of this people going from one side to the other, the sound of the shower and even when they flush the toliet was clearly hear from my suite. You will like you are inside a boombox so i request change of room but no room was available so I had the worst three nights of sleep you will ever imagine NEVER book here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with no other room above you .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelpaparazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Tampa - Airport West
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
1.9 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 161 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay

Property: Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay
Address: 5108 Eisenhower Blvd, Tampa, FL 33634-6313 (Formerly Mainsail Suites Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mainsail Tampa Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainsail Suites Hotel Tampa
Mainsail Suites Hotel And Conference Center
Mainsail Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing