We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the corner of the shopping mall.”

First Choice Southern BBQ
Ranked #326 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In the corner of the shopping mall.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is hard to find even with GPS navigation, but if you find it, the food is pretty good. I had the pork with beans and slaw. The slaw was just ok, but the pork and baked beans were quite tasty. The food is served on disposable plates. The sauce was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank wade w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Brandon!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

First Choice BBQ is one of few reasons to head to Brandon. The pulled pork is probably the best in town. Spicy BBQ sauce actually has a kick to it. Ribs are fantastic and falling off the bone. If you so happen to be in the area, stop by this BBQ joint. It will help you deal with the horrible Brandon traffic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aloafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best BBQ year after year”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If I'm in Florida, this is always a destination. I have eaten here for over 10 years, always the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun city center
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“oh the ribs are just out of this world”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

the first time I stopped here was about 11/2 years ago I took a bus load of people there after visiting Cracker Country. I have been back many times and was there yesterday. the ribs are really what you call finger licking good. they fall off the bones. when you walk in there is always a line - don't worry it moves very fast - where you place your order. by the time you get to the cashier your order is ready. the French fries are real. I highly recommend the macaroni salad if you can take a little heat. definitely not your run of the mill macaroni salad. the guys working there always warn - you know the flavors hot. yes give it to me anyways. well worth the experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank crickett201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You'll Never Eat Sonny's Again”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The only review that you need is to go try this place one time and you'll be hooked. Best food EVER!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countryboy331980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Choice Southern BBQ also viewed

 

Been to First Choice Southern BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing