We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #913 of 2,416 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Livingston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just got off the plane and hungry in Tampa. Still a two hour ride in front of me. Blasted right past this mex/tex treat. Made a U-turn and now have my Tampa airport treat for all future trips. Clean cute interior. Pleasant staff to answer questions and give timely service. Cold adult beverages. Fresh guacamole and not on shredded bland lettuce to make it appear larger than life. The food was the best part of the stop. I have been to Mexico many times and even the food there is different from place to place. Guadalajara does Mexican right and the prices are right.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Many Authentic Dishes Well Prepared w/o the Hefty Pricetag!”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Guadalajara is a Tampa tradition for the past 15-16 years. I have wined and dined many "Homesick Texans" here because some of the dishes are Tex-Mex, along with new Southwest transplants wanting "carne con chile and chile verde".

They serve everything from barbacoa, to goat, sopes, gorditas, tortas, soups, ribs, chicharrones, chile rellenos, fish, shrimp, liver and cactus. That's not including traditional dishes like tacos, homemade tamales, burritos, enchiladas, flautas, nachos, chimichangas, quesadillas, rice, beans and BREAKFAST!

Luncheon specials are $6.99 each. Great deals for freshly prepared food.

Also, full liquor bar, beer, wine, soft drinks and desserts.

Always clean and promoted, courteous service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachykeenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The service was quick and friendly, the atmosphere was inviting and the food was fantastic!

We very rarely go out for Mexican since my husband is a great cook with many Mexican dishes in his list of specialties. We usually end up being disappointed when we go out for Mexican, but I am happy to say that was NOT the case here.

Everyone in our family LOVED the food (even my extremely picky 5 year old daughter enjoyed it and asked for more) and we discovered a couple of new to us dishes.

The portions were huge and the food was just wonderful. I had never had Sopes before but decided to give them a try...I am glad I did!!!

We were all stuffed, but we shared a Tres Leches for dessert and it was also super yummy.

If you want real, authentic Mexican food this is the place to go!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FLAwesomeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Real Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Ive been out of the country for 10 yrs and have had a yearning for all the food you can get in the states, and mexican food is one of them. Guadalajara has a great lunch special and it's REAL Mexican Food, not gourmet, not neuvoe, not fast food. Just good mexican food.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrEd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really good REAL Mexican food”
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We had a great meal at Guadalajara last week. Service was excellent, food was authentically Mexican (not southwestern or nuevo latino), prices reasonable. We stopped in on a whim and will definitely go out of the way to eat there again. Carne asada was great. Pork in green chile was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank mrssimptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing