We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food's Great and Prices High” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewood Tavern & Grill

Stonewood Tavern & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Tavern & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don't want to have just another ordinary night out - so tonight, make it extraordinary! We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood's gourmet chefs. Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties. So the next time you're looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food's Great and Prices High”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The menu has changed and looks too much canned. Pick a protein first then choose options. Nothing sounds like "made to order". And for this, even tough it is delicious, the prices are high. Especially $7.50 for a piece of Sysco cake for desert. My estimate is 4stars for taste and plating, and 2stars for value.

Helpful?
Thank Rcbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    72
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Pork Chops in Tampa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The pork chops and sirloin steak were outstanding with scrumptious sweet potatoe fries. The waitress and manager were very friendly and interested in our opinion about the restaurant. We will be back for another meal upon returning to Tampa!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Birthday Celebration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came to Stonewood to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. I had read the reviews and was really looking forward to it.

We ordered the Blue Cheese chips as an appetizer. We had heard that it was there signature appetizer. They were good....but not sensational. One friend ordered the pot pie. She felt it was too rich and could not finish it. I ordered the Grilled steak Salad. The steak was not tender at all. Regarding taste, it was just ok. The birthday girl ordered tuna but did not comment on it.

We had mentioned that it was a birthday celebration from the beginning and the Host who seated us stated that we would get a small birthday cake. We also mentioned this to the waiter.
Well, the birthday cake never came. As we were leaving the Host asked about the cake and we stated we did not get it. The waiter told him that he thought we were going home to eat cake and therefore did not bring it.

Overall, I agree with another reviewer that said the restaurant is ok but not worth returning as there are many restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liveoak_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“never a bad meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

we eat hear all the time and the food and service is always exceptional. try the blue cheese chips, they are to die for, also LOVE the Mediterranean salad

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adieax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
301 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, so so service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went here for a no kids Friday nght. Had to wait for an hour for a table, which gave us time to have a glass of wine from the bar. Server came, got our drink orders left and we waited. She finally came back, we ordered and we waited..... Apps came, had to ask for bread, each dish came out missing something that we requested, so they were bringing back the cheese, tabassco and butter. The entire meal, two set-ups sat on the edge of the table and they never thought about taking them away. Overall, the food had good flavor, looked nice, too bad they cannot delivery the entire experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GaDawg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stonewood Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing