We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Gyros in Town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mom's Place

Mom's Place
Ranked #187 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Gyros in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great value for the amount and quality of food. A fun little diner with great service! Take some food to go and lunch in the park nearby... perfect for the approaching spring!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckmetz002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    47
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best diners I have been to in Florida.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Coming from Brooklyn, New York I am used to having good food. Most of what I had found in this part of Florida was just not worth it (even if it was for free). But since finding this gem, I am just very thankful that it is not at all near to my home 35 miles away. If it was any closer I would weight about 500 lbs. We usually go there on a Saturday morning about 10:30. I have the
Chopped steak, home fries, fried egg, toast and coffee. It is cooked exactly as I ordered it. Son gets the Green breakfast: Gyro meat, home fries, pancakes, tsaniki sauce (sorry can't spell it), egg and coffee. Total cost including tax is about $15.50. There is usually a line but it moves, because the customers know not to waste time chatting while others are waiting. I also notice that people are leaving with a happy face. Don't know if its for the food, price or service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trishers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Moms: How "homey" does that sound?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

...and for years it was right next door to a competing diner named "Pop 'N Sons." I always wondered what drove Mom & Pop apart---and what made the boys choose to go with their father anyway?

In any case, I've eaten lunch here many, many times when I worked in the area. It was never anything special but it always satisfied. The owner's Greek so there were usually specialities from his homeland and I always order the Avgolemono soup when it's on the menu. It's as good as any restaurant on the sponge docks in Tarpon Springs.

It's a nice place: I really like it even though you have to look at all those autographed NY Yankee pictures and the players that hang out there during Spring Training. I've even run into George Steinbrenner there a few times before he passed away earlier this year. R.I.P and Go Rays!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best for homestyle cooking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Went here for breakfast on the recommendation of local friends. Very good food and excellent service. Cash only. That's ok.., prices are very reasonable. Nice & clean.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilredhenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice little diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Found this place on a Saturday morning. Parking lot was packed, so we knew they must have good food. Standard diner fare with all the usual breakfast items. Everything tasted good. The service was good too. The staff is all very freindly and accommodating. Prices are very reasonable too. Breakfast for five people was less than 30 bucks. We are happy we found this place and will return when we visit Tampa next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DizWiz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom's Place also viewed

 

Been to Mom's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing