We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Bread and Pastries”

La Segunda Central Bakery
Ranked #1 of 58 Bakeries in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Bread and Pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

After coffee at El Molino in Ybor City we were looking for something sweet. A quick Google search revealed that La Segunda Central bakery was close by. Walking into this unassuming storefront revealed an amazing array of breads, pastries and other amazing baked goods. The Cuban bread alone is worth the stop. We also sample fig bars and several other confections which all were amazing. Would highly recommend. A great way to wrap up your stop in Ybor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewHundley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love the cuban bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I grew up in Tampa and have had cuban bread and pastries all over town. La Segunda is one of my favorites. While living all over because my husband was in the Air Force, my dad would buy the cuban bread and overnight it to me...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cuban Bread in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Hands down La Sagunda makes the best Cuban bread. It has the perfect crust and soft in the middle. The sandwiches, breakfast and lunch, are great for a quick bite. Cafe con leche is good too.

Helpful?
Thank Agjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Who dosent LOVE a box of hand made pastries for cheap!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ok where do I start....places where you can walk in and get a box full of any pastry imaginable are few and far between. The pastry chefs at La Segunda are so talented its amazing. What I like is that there is nothing fancy and over prices, its just the good pastries and dessers I know at a great price. Not only and the PASTRIES and DESSERTS THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD but THE PRICES ARE GREAT!!!!!!!!!! Not to mention they have THE BEST SANWHICHES IN TAMPA!!!!!! They also have a great cake decorator who did my YUMMY wedding cake and take special orders for any event your having.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlclark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok cuban bakery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Tiny place with a lot of cookies and other pastries. Seems like the bread here is popular with a lot of people i saw buying it. guava strudel was thin and flakey. tres leches cake was dry. the little cookies i bought though were yummy. this place can't beat versailles or portos though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Segunda Central Bakery also viewed

 

Been to La Segunda Central Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing