We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winery and Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Winery and Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our first night in town we stayed near the hotel and ate at Cooper's. Turned out to be a great idea, we made a resv on open table, we were seated right on time, Super attentive server,Samantha, was spot on with her recommendations. I think she said the winery was in Illinois so I wasn,t expecting much but the wines were great. Save room for dessert several interesting items. It was crowded, but the noise level wasn't overhwhelming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BaileysJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    172
    37
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great wines!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This place has excellent service. By the time we left dinner, the place was packed so it is highly advised that you make a reservation through open table. Came here for lunch and had a turkey cranberry sandwich. The sandwich and the soup was good but the Asian slaw was not. Came back here for dinner with some friends and we all ordered drinks which were all really good. Two of us had peach and passion fruit sangria and both were really good. I had the red wine braised short ribs with mashed potato for dinner. I thought both the short rib and the potato were a little on the dry side.

I would come here again for the wine but not the food. It is a great place for a date though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank StellaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have enjoyed several lunches here but have not dined here in the evening. The wines, other than one of the Chardonnays and the Sauvignon Blanc are just so so but the food and service are both very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnedwardalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Make sure you have plenty of time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The ambience and food were stellar. The wine braised short ribs were tender and melt in your mouth while the maple crusted pork tenderloin was decadent. We started with the goat cheese and roasted veggie flatbread was great with just the right amount of balsamic. Dessert of a Reese’s chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream was served hot and was good, but a little rich for my taste—although that’s probably what made it so good. There were only two drawbacks to this restaurant, one the wine is made in Illinois with grapes sourced from CA, WA and OR. This is okay, but the wine list does not give you the grape source or the year of the wine, although you are selecting your wine blind, they will give you a small sample before you purchase. The wine price was fair ($7.50 per glass) and each dish has a recommended wine, BUT if you are a wine snob or semi-wine snob, you might find the “no year, no source” a problem. The only other issue was the service. It was one of the top two worst services I have ever had. The waiter was incapable of doing more than one thing at a time, for example, our table and the table next to us had the bill and payment ready. The waiter took one bill and then about 10 minutes later took ours. When addressing with the manager, he seemed pretty unconcerned. The entire dinner took a little over 2 hours, so plan accordingly. We will probably go back, but for the food with a prayer that the service is better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFlaHales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

After a great night of hockey we tried to wind down and enjoy our win. They not only ignored us for 30 min. I would not recommended this to anyone that wants to enjoy a night with friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank Relocations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing