We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet visit”
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #134 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Description: Sweet Tomatoes features made-from-scratch soups and salads and handcrafted muffins, Focaccia, breads, and desserts. The menu is built around freshly made, great-tasting, wholesome recipes with a 55-foot salad bar full of fresh, seasonal vegetables and tossed salads prepared exhibition-style every 20 minutes. Sweet Tomatoes provides its guests with an excellent value by offering unlimited access to its entire menu of high quality fresh items at a fixed price.
Plainville, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought we should try eating a bit light and saw the salad buffet. It was a great buffet. All different kinds of salads and soups. Everything was delicious. We did not have any complaints. Servers were polite and cleaned up plates when needed. Kid friendly. Ice Cream machine. Great for kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A new favorite for us”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first time to eat here was a good experience. My husband loved the salad bar choices, but my favorite was the tomato soup. The dessert choices were good, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“After having lunch there, did not feel so good.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had lunch at Sweet Tomatoes and did not feel so well after. We decided to give it another try a couple of weeks later, but with the same results. Something definitely did not agree with either of us. Would not go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel26Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fresh, Quality Salads, Pasta, & Soup Buffet Priced to Compete with Fast-Food restaurants!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We make a yearly trip to Tampa and stay near this restaurant. It is a serve-yourself buffet of salad, soups, pasta, breads and dessert. They offer the most diverse selection of any single restaurant serving this type of food, including options for vegetarians and vegans. The ingredients are fresh, fresh, fresh! It is an "all you can eat" meal that is reasonably priced, with decreasing prices for senior citizens and children. Some salads are prepared (i.e. Caesar Salad, Broccoli Salad....) and you have unlimited access to anything being served in the restaurant. Outside of the typical negatives of a buffet-style restaurant (people popping up/down during a meal, having to serve yourself, etc.) this is an outstanding, healthy option that is reasonably priced and competitive with most fast-food restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhichWay?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic. Love having good healthy food while on the road. They had their usual good fresh selection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing