We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar Louie - Ol Reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Louie

Bar Louie
Ranked #158 of 2,368 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar Louie - Ol Reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love their beer selection but they seem to be lacking in their wine selections.
Food B
Beer A
Wines C
Mixed Drinks B
Overall B-

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    63
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Goos bar fare..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bar Louis are a chain that always is a good place to catch a quick bite, have a good drink and dance to really loud music. We were here for a friends birthday and like usual it had a great section of beers and the girls were able to order "fru-fru" drinks that are sweet and loaded with alcohol.

Our waitress was very attentive and friendly and never left us with empty glasses. We had 10 different small meals and appetizers that were very flavorful and actually complemented our drinks. I wouldn't go here for a serious meal, but for watching sports and dancing to good music this is an easy, consistent choice!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went here twice in one day- first at happy hour, when we didn't end up ordering anything on the happy hour menu, then late at night because the Blue Martini next door was too crowded. During our first visit we ordered their touted "loaded tater tots", which were just like what you can buy and make at home by adding some queso, jalapenos and green onion. Later that night we tried the truffle butter popcorn, which once again tasted like popcorn out of a bag with some parmesan cheese on top- no sign or taste of truffle oil. Although the bar wasn't that busy they had the music so cranked up that conversation was next to impossible without shouting, so we went to the nearby Pub and had a better experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Come for the $1 burgers and stay for the music. We came with a large group, but found a table pretty quickly (it's seat yourself). Nachos came out very fats (before the drinks even) and were really yummy. We tries the burgers, $1. plain, minimal charges for things like cheese, mayo and onions. Pretty good, but kind of dry. We also tries the boneless wings and smothered tots - both really good. Draft beers were huge. We plan on coming back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Happenin' Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stopped in for a few drinks on a Friday evening, before dinner. Atmosphere was fun, most everyone was dressed up, no dirt bags here! The young people in Tampa really take pride in their appearance! Service was excellent and prompt, although I think the Happy Hour Price drinks were a little weaker than their drinks normally are. All in all, GREAT place to go!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank party-of-5-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Louie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing