We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual atmosphere, serious gumbo!”
Review of Front Porch Grille

Front Porch Grille
Ranked #419 of 2,405 Restaurants in Tampa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, serious gumbo!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice casual place with great food and Florida casual atmosphere. The gumbo was probably the best I've had in Florida, the cornbread served with it was a small portion, but that's a good thing. It was so good I would have eaten a whole pan if it was in front of me. My salmon was a nice thick plank and topped with blue crab and beurre blanc sauce. Side of jasmine rice and fresh zucchini (that was too drenched in butter though). Chocolate cake was the only disappointment, but will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatoutmorethanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great mac and cheese”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is some of the best mac and cheese we've ever had. Super rich (probably very caloric, but it is good to splurge). Nice atmosphere, in a house. Burgers are good. Pretty economical.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Casual Restaurant in Tampa”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are in the Tampa area and looking for a good, casual dining experience, I strongly suggest Front Porch Grille. The food is great and everyone is friendly. They even have a karaoke night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minniewoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Independent restaurant with varied menu”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I went to the Front Porch on two consecutive Fridays, the first time for dinner, the second for lunch. I was surprised that there is no lunch menu, possibly because the restaurant is only open for lunch on Thursdays and Fridays.

My first meal, basa meuniere, was tasty but greasy. For lunch I chose just a starter: calamari with tomato basil and sweet chili sauces. There were plenty of calamari for a meal and they were superbly done -- fried, but not greasy, and tender. The two sauces were very nice.

The service was good on both occasions, despite the fact that the restaurant was very busy on the Friday night that I was there.

The atmosphere is pleasant and there are tables outside on the front porch, though I ate inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tampacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a try for local style”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Heard about this spot from friends; decided to try. Food was outstanding; service was spotty and forgetful. Had to ask multiple times( wasn't an issue since we were not in a hurry). Recommend meat loaf.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrabread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Porch Grille also viewed

 

Been to Front Porch Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing