We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of P.F. Chang's

P.F. Chang's
Ranked #107 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Changs was not your typical Chinese Restaurant. I guess that is a good thing. There is a good selection of items not normally found at a Chinese Buffet, so guests of different tastes can find solace at Changs. However, the Kung Pao* Chicken(*my spelling), was lacking the spices usually found in this dish(rather bland). But what it lacked in spices they made up for in peanuts, if you like peanuts. But I was not in a peanut mood. What lacked in taste seemed to be made up in quantity. There was plenty of food, on both servings. My partner had Lo Mein. Veggies were flavorfull. She said the noodles needed more time to cook, although, again, there was plenty of them.
We paid with a $50.00 Gift card. There was no change. In fact we had to add to make the bill and tip. A redeeming factor was that they have Guinness Beer(bottle). We will likely not return, but only because it is a long way from Brandon with many better spots to eat.
Parking on the top floor of the parking garage at Westshore was convenient for PF Changs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pooka2Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    119
    59
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gotta love Changs”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

They have amazing food and service. I love the Chang's Spicy chicken and the lettuce raps are a must. You should strongly consider reservations because the wait can be really long.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dine in and take out”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had lunch there and had a to go order. The food was just ok. The egg drop soup was weird because it was sweet...

the shrimp with lobster sauce was just ok.

I had an order of the wonton soup to go- bad idea, even though they separated the cooked dumplings from the broth, they were mushy and stuck together.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay area, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Should have read the fortune cookie first!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

After many delightful visits to this location, last night's dinner was a big disappointment. We were shown to a booth that was unacceptably dirty, with trash and food under the table, rice and crumbs in crack of the seat cushions, greasy handprints on the seats and a partially wiped table. I had to sit on my sweater. We ordered drinks and appetizers, and the egg rolls were good, but the spring rolls were lukewarm, soggy, greasy and under cooked, and not appetizing at all. Although our waiter was friendly, he never lit the tabletop candle as requested, nor did he bring the 3 sauces that usually come with the appetizers. My favorite coconut veggie dish is usually great, but this time was completely bland and tasteless, and had almost no sauce. The brown rice was good, but the white rice was cold and stuck together in one big lump. For $50 plus, we were really hoping for a much more enjoyable meal. Maybe the fortune cookie would have warned us, but our waiter forgot to bring those, too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylA222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Easy location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had Sunday afternoon lunch at P.F. Chang's. We were meeting my daughter and it made an easy to find central location. I was happy to find out that they will make same day reservations ahead so we did not have to wait. Have tried to eat there on a Friday or Saturday night and they had over an hour wait times. With the reservation we walked right in! Ordered the lettuce wraps as an appetizer. Very popular. Good start. The spring rolls were also good. The three of us shared two orders and still took some home. Flavorful and fresh. Liked it a lot. Nice spot for families or couples. Service was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cegdoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing