We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Cheer And Good Company At 220 East”
Review of 220 East

220 East
Ranked #343 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Restaurant details
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Cheer And Good Company At 220 East”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been to this place on past trips to Tampa when visiting some good friends in the area and have always been happy with the food. Apparently, this is one of "the Davis Island locals'" favorite hangouts. On a recent visit, I enjoyed this place "as a native," which meant sitting at the bar with my friends and some of their friends and noshing on some quality pub food. First, surprise, surprise! There is actually good pizza to be found in Tampa! We shared a tasty, thin crusted bar pie, loaded with pepperoni, sausage and peppers with just enough sauce to give it a pleasant kick! We also shared a few orders of first rate fish and chips. Like any good restaurant, go with the recommendations of those in the know and stick with what they do best. You will also be well satisfied with 220 East's blackened grouper sandwich, the freshness of which indicates that this establishment truly does take pride in serving quality seafood.

The best way to enjoy this place and really feel like a local is to try to grab a seat or two at the small bar and be served by a terrific young lady with a great personality to match. Good food, good cheer and good company make for an enjoyable evening at a truly local Davis Island spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“wrong choice of food ?”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

compared to the last time we dined here my dinner wasn't nearly as good. But last time I had Grouper and my pasta dish with very blackened chicken and the slightly burned bow tie pasta was not really good at all. My husband and friends all enjoyed their food, I am glad to say, so maybe my choice wasn't good on that night. Even though the Restaurant wasn't full, the noise level was extreme, and that didn't make for a good atmosphere or ambience. The service was as good as ever, very pleasant and friendly, and maybe next time it'll have improved and I have made a better choice with my food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BB1Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food on Davis Island”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Dave the owner does an incredible job at this quaint little restaurant that has quickly become a Davis Island fave... The Asian chicken salad is a must have...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeCap22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant on Davis Islands near downtown Tampa”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located on beautiful Davis Islands near downtown Tampa, this restaurant has become a favorite of locals. The food is always quality and the atmosphere is friendly from the owners Dave and Nui, to the staff who really enjoy serving their clientele. The fish and chips is to die for and the soups are always beyond good. Prices are very reasonable for the caliber and quantity you receive. Take out boxes are in order. As an extra, this place is a favorite for New York Yankee players living in the vicinity, so you never know who you may see.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casacarajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch on Davis Island”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Discovered 220 East with a group from lunch this week. Service was excellent, we had a party of 12, and the food was very good. Everyone tried different items but the dishes with alfredo sauce seemed to be the big winner. I went with a cajun chicken salad which had a lot chicken and good fresh greens. I will be back to try dinner but it is a good find for those that are not familiar with Davis Island/Tampa. You can't miss on this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeDan1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 220 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing