We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potato Ball Deviled Crab Heaven”

Brocato's Sandwich Shop
Ranked #7 of 2,416 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Description: In 1948, Brocato’s opened its doors for business. From grocery store to meat market, to sandwich shop, Brocato’s has always strived to provide the best sandwich in Tampa, combined with friendly service. These valuse, coupled with the hard work and dedication of the Brocato’s family, have attracted and maintained loyal customers through the years. Fast forward 63 years later to 2012, and while countless restaurants, diners and sandwich shops have come and gone, Brocato’s is still making the best sandwich with the best service in Tampa. Everyone at Brocato’s is committed to giving you, our customers, the best sandwich and the best service possible. We thank you for making Brocato’s one of Tampa Bay’s long standing traditions.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Potato Ball Deviled Crab Heaven”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I do not know where to start. Brocato's is a hidden gem. Everything on the menu is outstanding. The potato balls and Deviled Crabs are to die for. Not to mention the fantistic sandwiches they serve. Love the Cuban. You will be amazed. A great place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soupsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    153
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa ana, ca
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the hype is about.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I am happy that brocato's has been around since 1948. I guess it is an accomplishment all by itself.

Arrived around 3pm. There were several people eating both inside and outside. They have tables in a patio area.

There was only one person ordering ahead of me. I ordered the Cuban sandwich which I found to be quite good but not sure if I need to make a special trip because its the best. I ordered a large sandwich. It really should be split between 2 people. All sandwiches come with a free drink and a really small bag of chips. Free refills if you drink fountain soda.

Where I will not make a special trip, they did have some other items I would like to try so I will be back one day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ocwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing cuban and stuffed potato”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

amazing food, well worth the money, the side of plantains can feed a family

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brocato's is the Best!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If they make it...They make it well. They have the biggest deviled crab I have ever seen and it is amazing! Their Cuban sandwich is so filled with meat you will have trouble getting your mouth around it. But try the Gidi Pie if you really want a taste of what old Tampa is all about! Be prepared to wait your turn in the line to order and don't expect much in the way of dining comfort. This is a sandwich shop you know!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliaArenaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quirky place, big sandwiches, delicious food! Get off the highway.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just a stones throw from I-4 and US 41 in Tampa... worth getting off the highway if you are jonesing for some Cuban style food. Sandwiches, yellow rice, black beans and chicken, CAUTION: SANDWICHES ARE HUGE!!!! First time I got a "regular" Cuban and it was about twice as big as a subway foot long... Second time I got the chicken and yellow rice.... HUGE PORTIONS of delicious food. Enough for two people.
ADVICE: CALL or FAX your order before you arrive to minimize your wait!
Quirky: located on a huge tree covered lot, the shop is small, and crowded when you enter.... Don't be intimidated, most of these people have already ordered and paid and are waiting for their order. The wait during rush can be 15-20 minutes.. but worth it. While waiting, grab your drinks and chips. They have outdoor seating where you can refill your drinks and watch them make their signature "devil crabs" - a crab and tomato sauce concoction deep fried. They close at 5 - NO DINNER. EAT HEARTY!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brocato's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Brocato's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing