We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmine's Seventh Avenue

Carmine's Seventh Avenue
Ranked #151 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Cool to be in Ybor. Cool location right on 7th. Pretty good prices and food. Get the crab cakes and the chicken parm. Good service. Sit by the window and people watch.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Butnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    115
    57
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Go for the Key Lime Pie, Not the Cuban Sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to a great cuban sandwich. Carmines was recommended . We ordered the cuban but were disappointed by a sandwich that was just lacking something. Beans and rice were also boring....but the key lime pie was really special. Just the right amount of tartness and served at the correct temperature. We liked it so much, we went back before we left just for the KL pie!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Was here for lunch today and after waiting for what seemed like forever, I ordered the special. A Cuban sandwich with yellow rice and black beans. The Cuban sandwich was average and black beans and rice were very bland. Was confused on why this was called a special.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Recommendation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Friends were visiting Tampa and staying near Ybor, and the hotel recommended Carmine’s for dinner. On Ybor's restaurant row, 7th Avenue, it’s easy to find, and there’s ample parking in the municipal lot behind it.

Be prepared for noise and bustle. Although the historic tin ceilings are high above, they reflect the noise of the large dining room and bar; likewise the tile floors and paneled walls. Tables are set spaciously, leaving you to enjoy dinner without sitting on top of your neighbors.

Carmines advertises an original crab cake. Well, it was actually more of a crab ball. Our visitors split one, and enjoyed it very much. The Oysters Lavarone were exceptional. My partner loved the Italian Mushrooms, stuffed with sausage and Italian seasonings. The Black Bean Soup was thick and rich. We followed appetizers with an excellent Gorgonzola salad.

For dinner, I recommend the Breaded Palomilla Steak, which is breaded and fried, topped with marinara and a hard-boiled egg. The Lasagna was also exceptional, as was the shrimp, served with linguini that was a bit overdone. The Chicken Piccata was good, but would have been better with a bit more sauce and capers. The side dish of fettuccini Alfredo was overcooked, the pasta actually clumped together.

We ended our meal with cappuccino. Rich, smooth and creamy. A perfect ending to a great meal. Oh, and they make a killer Bombay Sapphire martini. Kudos to the bartenders, whoever they are.

Although the restaurant was crowded and busy, we were never made to feel rushed during the course of the evening. Taylor, our waitress, was very helpful with recommendations, and very capable at her job. At the same time she was friendly and funny, and always made us feel that we were her special customers. Be prepared, when your waitress asks you which salad you want, or what side dishes, that all items are ala carte. We ordered many items expecting they were included in the entrée price, when every item was priced separately. Our bill for two dinners, excluding drinks, totaled $70, before tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Cuban Sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Cuban Sandwich was average in taste. The portion was a large size for the half sandwich. The french fries were yummy & plenty to share with others. The women's bathroom were nasty and would not go there again. The bathrooms really need a make over and it makes me wonder how the kitchen looks when the bathrooms were that bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmorgan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's Seventh Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Carmine's Seventh Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing