We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favorite for Spanish food”

Arco Iris Restaurant
Ranked #279 of 2,417 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A local favorite for Spanish food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very traditional spanish plates of food. Very consistent on flavors and fairly priced. Convenient location on Columbus Avenue. This has been a long time favorite for many West Tampa residents for many years. My favorite in the area is still the Puerto Rican restaurant Mi Pueblo. But if you want to eat better food than La teresita, this is an easy place to choose. Also, if Mabel's flowers is open, get some flowers from her.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FritziinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“typical cuban food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very tasty food, love the steak and rice. It's pretty small for the great food, but it is worth the wait and the small space, the food is quite enjoyable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbot
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic and good value Cuban food”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

One of my local favorites near the airport and Bucaneer stadium. I love their shredded pork that is grilled crispy with black beans. One of my other favorites is their collard green soup which is collard green liquor with navy beans and great seasoning. Not full of ambience but authentic. I can eat all the above for the price of a chic-fila sanwich and large ice tea. Good value.

Helpful?
Thank Fig2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fun cuban family restaurant”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Dined here last night (saturday) the scene was a blast. Many Cuban families with their well behaved children eating mounts of meats with Plantains and beans & rice. The food was simple but good. Both the chicken soup and the Carne Asada (which was a pork tenderloin for some reason, not beef) had enough synthetic bullions in them to be distracting, but I would order both again. The Cajun style fish/shrimp was poorly challenged for New Orleans but just fine for Tampa. Good coffee, the ladies enjoyed the sweet Sangria - good fried Yucca -

in Summary: Yes go, go especially when it is busy. The food is good; service is good - all in all - even foodies (unless they are militant) should have a good time. I will go back.

BTW - Tripadvisor is a poor resource for foodies because it is nearly impossible to introduce new restaurants here unless they have a web site. For this reason, I have stopped trying to post reviews on new and undiscovered restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cuisine_screener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cuban food, close to the Tampa airport”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

If you like eating where locals eat, this is a good choice. About 5 mins from the airport and easy to get to from there. The atmosphere is like a pizza parlor/sub shop. The meat dishes we ordered had a lot of flavor and were reasonably priced. A number of the menu items are fried (the fried pork chunks were delicious). Garbanzo soup was really good, but only if you appreciate salt. Don't be confused by the 'Chinese' selections on the menu- from what we could determine, it's just fried rice. Parking was limited at dinnertime. We parked in the meat market parking lot next door, on Columbus, and the car was still there when we came out. I rated this restaurant 'very good' because it met our expectations for Cuban food in Tampa.

Helpful?
Thank MMtwentyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arco Iris Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arco Iris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing