We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best sushi....ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toki Japanese Restaurant

Toki Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #581 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best sushi....ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming here for over 10 years. Every single time we are amazed all over again at the freshness and quality of everything on the menu. The skill level of the chefs is down right stunning, and the creativity of their many rolls is staggering. We have tried sushi in so many varied locations but have just stopped because all we end up doing is comparing it to Toki...and it never lives up. You can get sushi anywhere, but you can only get the best at Toki.

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Consistent, Time after Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have been coming here for several years now. The food has always been consistently excellent. The staff are very friendly and especially welcoming of regulars. There are always regulars in the restaurant. Their respect in that capacity will continue to draw our family back. The décor is dated, who cares really ... it is all about the food. Menu offerings include vegetarian / vegan options for the "oddball" in the family / circle of friends. We highly recommend a visit !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoingToTheBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi in Tampa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Go here at least once a month.Service is excellent.Food is fresh.Tempura is special.Favorite Sushi is the Spicy Tuna Roll.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic service | Superb specialty rolls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Conveniently located on N. Dale Mabry, Toki is a nice sushi restaurant with wonderful service. The unpretentious atmosphere with friendly servers and innovative specialty rolls add to the experience. The starters were delicious and the honesty from the wait staff on what is truly fresh allows you to trust the quality of the food. The creative rolls were an added plus but the usual sushi menu items were all very good. Reservations highly-recommended as the restaurant was at full capacity with a wait, so a popular destination for many reasons.!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I ordered take out from here yesterday and was not disappointed. The rolls were fresh and delicious and the staff, friendly and accommodating.

Dragon roll - fresh large chunks of salmon
Bucaneers roll - absolutey scrumptious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing