We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice restaurant along the water”
Review of The Colonnade - CLOSED

The Colonnade
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant along the water”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We don't often go out, but when we have company into town, we often head to The Colonnade, usually for a meal of fish or seafood. Moderately priced, and something for most people. Good food providing a pleasant dining experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    102
    70
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent View”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is one of those places that it's worth the wait to sit by a window overlooking Tampa Bay. Go in the early evening and enjoy the sunset.

I ordered the whole yellowfin snapper special and it was excellent. Food quality is amazing, however, the presentation is not top notch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
223 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Grouper Maybe, Shrimp No, Prices High!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great ambiance, lovely view, decent service. But the shrimp were overdone in the two shrimp meals we ordered and the server said, "Yes, sometimes that happens" without offering to replace it. And the grilled grouper was half raw so we had to wait 15 minutes for a new piece. The new piece was OK. But I felt we should have been offered free dessert or something for our poor experience. When I summarized for the server that we'd have two overdone and one underdone meal. she nodded sympathetically and said, "Yeah, I know, I don't know why the kitchen's having such problems today." Thanks for your concern!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Podie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The view is great, but everything else about this restaurant is average at best. I called ahead for a reservation, was told they do not take reservations, but that on Sunday night at 7:30 there would be no wait. When we, a part of 6, arrived we were told there was a 20 minute wait and that we could wait in the bar. When I pressed the hostess about my prior phone call and being told there would not be a wait she said she would take a second look. Lo and behold there was a table available, in fact there were several as the restaurant was not crowded at all. Clearly an attempt to have us spend time in the bar. The food was ok. Nothing special. I had a combo meal, stuffed shrimp and grilled shrimp. The grilled shrimp were so overdone that I had a hard time removing them from the skewer. The stiffed shrimp were quite small and very salty. Dessert was uninspiring. Overall, I would say choose a different place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank logisticssquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
479 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great view of Tampa Bay, average food....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Colonnade has been a South Tampa staple for years and the interior shows that as it doesn't look like it's been touched in quote sometime.... That being said, the view is the best you'll find on Bayshore Boulevard in Tampa and if you get a window seat it can be relaxing. Typically, a 55 + crowd is what you will find here but it is a decent spot for lunch.. Service is consistent, food average but worth a trip.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing