We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try somewhere else”
Review of The Colonnade - CLOSED

The Colonnade
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The view is great, but everything else about this restaurant is average at best. I called ahead for a reservation, was told they do not take reservations, but that on Sunday night at 7:30 there would be no wait. When we, a part of 6, arrived we were told there was a 20 minute wait and that we could wait in the bar. When I pressed the hostess about my prior phone call and being told there would not be a wait she said she would take a second look. Lo and behold there was a table available, in fact there were several as the restaurant was not crowded at all. Clearly an attempt to have us spend time in the bar. The food was ok. Nothing special. I had a combo meal, stuffed shrimp and grilled shrimp. The grilled shrimp were so overdone that I had a hard time removing them from the skewer. The stiffed shrimp were quite small and very salty. Dessert was uninspiring. Overall, I would say choose a different place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank logisticssquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    102
    70
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great view of Tampa Bay, average food....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Colonnade has been a South Tampa staple for years and the interior shows that as it doesn't look like it's been touched in quote sometime.... That being said, the view is the best you'll find on Bayshore Boulevard in Tampa and if you get a window seat it can be relaxing. Typically, a 55 + crowd is what you will find here but it is a decent spot for lunch.. Service is consistent, food average but worth a trip.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's been a few years since I've been to Tampa, but this remains a great option for lunch or dinner and we had to fit it in. Great atmosphere. The crab and spinach dip was amazing! I also love the coconut shrimp. My husband had to shrimp and grits; the grits were good but he was a little disappointed that the shrimp were fried instead of broiled. However, we still love this place and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Little Old Fashioned but enjoyable...”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The view is spectacualr especially if you can get a window seat. They must be doing something right, this restaurant is usually pretty busy.
Our party of four ordered Tilapia, prime rib, coconut shrimp and crab cakes. Choice of two sides. We were all pleased with the food, and the service. Very attentive to providing more coffee.
Instead of bread they give you a basket of tiny muffins, which is a nice touch.
We were impressed with the interior of the restaurant and nice warm decor.
We like the ambiance, but, younger people may feel it is dated.
A nice drive to get to the restaurant, take a look at the interesting homes and buildings on Bayshore Blvd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had dinner last weekend with a friend on Saturday night. There was about a 30 minute wait so I had a cup of coffee in the bar area to pass the time. We were seated at a table which was located right across from the windows overlooking the water. The view was spectacular with the city lights and skyline.
The service was great as our waiter made sure to check on our table several times during the visit. The crab cake appetizer was good. Not a lot of breading as some restaurants do. Great taste and spices were nice. I ordered the Salmon, sweet potato and salad. Very reasonable portions and the salmon was seasoned well and cooked to perfection.
The Colonnade is always a special place to go when in the Tampa area. Not much has changed over the years in the restaurant and the quality of food has remained very good. It's always a pleasure to enjoy a great meal and take a minute to sit back and enjoy one of the most beautiful views in Tampa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing