We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Thai food in a charming atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palace Thai Restaurant

Royal Palace Thai Restaurant
Ranked #481 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Solid Thai food in a charming atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had a family dinner here and it was a very nice experience - friendly service, and the inside architecture is quite delightful in its little intricate details.

The food is tasty - wide ranging Thai traditionals - a number of different curries, with duck, seafood, and regular poultry/pork dishes. The rice-paper spring rolls were a little bland, I thought - but the curry duck was quite delicious and we took an extra order home for later.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TraipsingAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Royal Thai Palace isn't the best Thai food in Tampa, but it is very good. Sometimes challenging to get parking and not very big, but solid, reliably good and distinct Thai cuisine. The drinks are tasty, but the bar in infamously slow. Despite all it's shortcomings I keep going back because it is very good and convenient.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BluWater1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I eat Thai food both in the U.S. and Thailand. This is the best in Tampa and some of the best in the Thai food in the US.
The menu has old favorites from Tom Khar soup to Pad Thai noodles. Everything has a clean distinct flavor. As to heat, my colleague and I are used to real Thai hot so we used extra sauce. Your taste buds are safe.
The atmosphere and service were outstanding. Our server took extra care with extra rice, ice tea refills, etc.
It would be very difficult for you to have a negative experience here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bogden353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Met a girl friend of mine here today for lunch. Cute spot off Howard Ave. They have a small outdoor seating area facing the street with fans so it was still really nice even in the heat of September. The place wasnt very busy so it made for a peaceful lunch. I think we had a total of 3 people serving our table of two but all were very nice and attentive. We had seaweed salad and shared the sexy woman roll, dixie roll, and some yellow curry chicken. All delicious!!! Only thing negative I found was the bill being $40 and we just had water to drink. My fave thai place at home in St Pete has the same great food and lunch prices are much cheaper.... maybe it's bc we were in South Tampa tho. Anyway, overall would definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kandice292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
“Thai...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

All I can say is if you want to try this place... get To-Go. Their table service SUCKS! We were seated near the fish tank and it took a half hour to get water. The food took sooo long that I had to ask for everything to go before it even got out the kitchen door and was ice cold. Yet... to go it is ready in less than 20 min.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ansonkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Royal Palace Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing