We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Exceptional Service”

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Cypress
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Exceptional Service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

On a recent trip to Tampa for spring baseball training, we were introduced to J Alexander's restaurant. I was very impressed with the level of service. The quality of the food was exceptionally good and so was the wine selection. I will return again and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Tampa area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pcbwinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    100
    31
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

They're always consistent and have a nice variety. The prime rib sandwich is huge (big enough to share) and makes for a delicious lunch. They have fantastic soups and salads and their dinner menu never disappoints.

The servers can be their only downfall at times. At least half of the time we end up with a server that either messes up the order or is very slow to get our order to us. When they're service s on, it's great! Not once have we had a Mgr come over after service issues. We keep going back though because the food is indeed good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“GREAT Tampa Restaurant”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

GREAT Restaurant to take out of town guests or for a fancy dinner or date. Good food - Great menu selections - prices a little high but lots of unique food here. Good service and a nice clean place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
315 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place to take closed friends and visitors, to an upscale relaxed urban atmosphere. If you are in a low sodium diet, this may be not your place for you!. One of my favorite place to eat, BUT a bit pricey. Elegant, sophisticated, the staff if friendly and courteous. Every plate my friends or family ordered were beautifully presented and the taste was Great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NEVER had a bad experience here......wonderful!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have visited several times and am ALWAYS pleased with the results...Food is great, drinks are better, and the ambiance is very professional yet lively...not stuffy and not campy....the PERFECT middle ground for a great time without the pretense.... think Houston's only without the high end pricing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing