We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every course is a creative treat, from the bar to the kitchen”
Review of SideBern's - CLOSED

SideBern's
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: S. Howard Ave.
Description: SideBern's is Bern's Family of Legends' hip, progressive restaurant. Its menu features Executive Chef Chad Johnson's modern cuisine served in a stylish, relaxed fine dining atmosphere. SideBern's offers its guests the ability to taste different flavors and textures created with innovative culinary techniques.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Every course is a creative treat, from the bar to the kitchen”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The service is always stellar, the drinks are so good and the food is always a wonderful pairing that you would never think of. When I take a newbie there, they see it as an event rather than a meal and most of these people are world travelers with refined tastes. It's fun to see the grins as the night goes on.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampatwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine worthy of Bern's”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Awsome service, creative bartending, home-grown vegetables and a commitment to excellence in all aspects of the dining experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwearrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not to be missed is the charcuterie plate. To give you a hint of how well done this is, the chef's dog is named 'chorizo'! This is meant to be the crazy side of Bern's. The wine list is tremendous as one would expect. I would suggest getting there a bit early and try some of their unique cocktails!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dreamy Plates. Horrifying Service.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dining at the bar at a foodie's paradise like SideBern's should be an easy delight. But on this particular occasion the hearty and heartwarming rabbit risotto I still dream about was plated up up with nighmarish service. It's hard to revel in such a sublimely rich dish when its servers are aloof and unwelcoming. I guess even great places for plates can have an off night or two. Oh, well. I'll probably go back, but I'll get a table next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“One of Tampa's best restaurants”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food is excellent and modern. We loved everything we tried. Don't expect large portions though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SideBern's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing