We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sandwiches and cakes in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wright's Gourmet House

Wright's Gourmet House
Ranked #2 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenbrier, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches and cakes in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had heard of Wright's and driven by the restaurant many times, just never stopped in until this month. Now I will be a regular. Deli sandwiches made to order, more than a dozen types of deli salads, and lots of baked goods (cupcakes, whole cakes, sweet breads, brownies, pies -whole and by the piece) for dessert--who could ask for more. You can find a place to munch your goodies inside the store or enjoy the wonderful winter Tampa weather at an outdoor table. Several of the recipes for the sweets and salads are old family recipes and so nice that they are sharing them with us! Don't be put off by the line, I think there is always a line waiting for their food, but it moves fast and is definitely worth any time you spend waiting. Not sure what to order...ask the guy in line around you...repeat customers are always present and happy to share their favorite picks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNarmybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    129
    28
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An unexpected hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I were on our way to Clearwater for the day and decided to find a spot in Tampa for lunch, so we perused Trip Advisor for a recommendation. We found Wright's Gourmet House and the ratings were high, so we gave it a try. We were so impressed! The selection of fresh salads, sandwiches and baked goods was amazing! I was so excited it was hard to make a decision about what to order. I ended up with the turkey pecan salad sandwich, which was fabulous! My husband ordered the Bahama Baby sandwich and it was equally fantastic! We tried the greek potato salad as well & loved it! We were so full, we couldn't bring ourselves to order dessert, but the selection of cakes and pies was unbelievable! We will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovindislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best cakes in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We use Wright's for most all of our special occasion cakes, pies, etc. They're delectable! We've eaten at the deli a few times and the food is amazing! It's a really hopping place. If you try to go on a Saturday, you'll be lucky to find parking...it's just THAT good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ginav_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Besty Special cakes, Event Pastries and party food in Tampa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wrights have great lunches too! The cakes, cupcakes, and pastries are to "die for" People from all around have eaten there and have gotten rave reviews. It is located in South Tampa but worth the trip! Orders can be made in advance for parties and got many compliments on their fresh tasty fare!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a sandwich shop with a great dessert selection. Been here twice now in as many weeks and while you wait for your sandwich to be prepared you will see people come in and purchase entire cakes to go. Large inventory of cakes to go so must be popular. I tried the hummingbird cupcake and was not disappointed. Also had Bahama baby and golden gate sandwiches and would recommend both. You wait a few minutes for your sandwich but staff is friendly and its worth it. There is indoor and outdoor seating nothing fancy, not that it should be. Great food and will def return soon.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sueme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wright's Gourmet House also viewed

 

Been to Wright's Gourmet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing