We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak On Tampa Bay”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 2,383 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union Street
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House in Tampa, FL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Steak On Tampa Bay”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at Ruth's Chris in Tampa and it was great in Ruth's Chris' style. Started dinner with the wedge salad with plenty of blue cheese! My son and I each had the T-bone steak while my wife opted for the petite filet; all well prepared and tasty! Ordered sides of cream spinach and asparagus. Followed meal with shared desserts of cheesecake and a creme brûlée; YUM! Prompt and efficient service by our waiter. Enjoyable evening with good food and service and expected costs from Ruth's Chris!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    66
    34
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester on
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

First time at Ruth's came with a high price with an average meal. If you are watching your salt intake, I don't recommend dining here. The steaks and shrimp flavours were lost under heavy spices and sauces. My large shrimp were buried in mashed potatoes vs set lightly on top, and as an afterthought, I'd of preferred rice. One of the high end steaks ordered had much gristle and fat resulting in a lot of waste. We were disappointed at the salads as their description did not match the plate. The Ruth's Chop Salad was mostly finely chopped lettuce with almost none of the other promised ingredients like hearts of palm, olives, bacon, mushrooms etc. Ambiance was diminished by a poor acoustical environment and the noisy atmosphere was very detrimental to our efforts in conversation. Waiters were attentive but rushing past tables with laden plates is not conducive to quiet and relaxed high end dining. One laden tray on a waiter's shoulder dragged through an overhanging fern unawares to the waiter and the clients about to receive their plates..yuck. There's many other restaurants to try in Tampa and St. Petersburg, and we'll do that for sure. This was an expensive lesson.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late Valentine's Date”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went on a Sunday for a belated Valentine's dinner. Made a reservation so we got right in. Everyone was very pleasant and the FOOD! Oh the food. We had crab cakes and the 12oz ribeye. Steak was cooked perfectly as always and crab cakes were to die for. The dirty goose martinis with blue cheese stuffed olives were off the chart! Wait staff was very accommodating and pleasant to have good service. Thanks Ruth's Chris for a great night out.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends - If you like the best Steak and Chops”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have dinned here several times.(Tampa) This time with a party of four. Everyone enjoyed dinner and the atmosphere. My favorites are the NY Strip and Rib Eye. I cannot think of another Steak and Chop House type establishment that has beat these folks with the quality of their beef. I am a "Meat and Potato's" type and love this venue. Excellent service and great dessert selection. Reservations are a must unless you like late night Dinning. Fix Price menu options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Upscale in Tampa Bay”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit and it was outstanding in every aspect, once again! The food is always perfect. This visit we had the ribeye, stuffed chicken breast, tomato salad, baked potatoe, broccoli augratin, and dessert. We went to celebrate a birthday and they went out of their way to make it a special occasion- table was decorated with birthday confetti and they gave the birthday girl a complimentary dessert plate of a sample of 3 heavenly desserts. If you like the dense, flourless type of chocolate cake, do not miss theirs- the best we have had!
The service was exceptional. We never wanted for anything yet never felt interrupted or bothered. The water glasses were constantly filled, all courses were very timely, and our waiter was friendly and helpful.
We visit other places in the area known for steak and this one- by far- surpasses the others. Make a reservation!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HB_and_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing