We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run Gem”

Iavarone's Italian Grill and Steak House
Ranked #118 of 2,399 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family run Gem”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Carmine runs a classy authentic Italian Restaurant. Good food and the staff treats you like family! The food is excellent and the service efficient and friendly Good choice in Tampa.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TampaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    43
    19
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I used to be a regular at Malio's when they were on Dale Mabry and always thought the food was good. I thought we would Iavarone's since it is the same family. Tired decor and OK food. Priced too high for what you get.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike_in_Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had not been to this place until this week and we decided to make an evening out of it, two couples, rented a limo and headed out there for a special evening. First impressions are so important ... it was raining a little when we pulled up and the bright valet parking attendants did not lend themselves to take 3 steps with their handy umbrellas to assist at least the ladies stepping out of the stretch, very disappointing. Inside the place is appointed in a rather basic and simple manner, no frills type decor but adequate and unpretentious. Our waiter though was very nice, friendly enough and with a good amount of enthusiasm. We ordered escargot and calamari as appetizers. The escargot was OK, garlicky which I like, but I've had better; the calamari was over-breaded and overdone to my liking. Entrees were good, one couple had the Chateaubriand for two and they really enjoyed it, my wife had a veal chop which was really great and I screwed up by ordering a filet (medium rare) which was on the dry side. Desserts were very good, canoli and home made tiramisu; excellent espresso and generously poured black Sambucca to finish it up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced Italian with a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Huge menu with something for everyone. They have an upstairs bar and plenty of seating. Atmosphere is noisy, but fun for a Friday or Saturday night. Only downside is that it isn't in the best-lit area off Waters and Dale Mabry.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Long-time favorite”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have visited Ivaroni's over the years and always go back. Very good food, service and atmosphere. The best lobster bisque around. Steaks and seafood always great. Whether for lunch or dinner, I highly recommend Ivaroni's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tampagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iavarone's Italian Grill and Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing