We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite, Great rolls & Happy Hour treats!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ichiban Japanese Cuisine

Ichiban Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #403 of 2,356 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A favorite, Great rolls & Happy Hour treats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We love to go to Ichiban for HH (3-6pm daily.) Half-priced Saki, discounted beer and a good variety of familiar and new rolls. They are so tasty, we rarely order sushi. The sushi we have eaten has always been fresh and flavorful. Try the Yummy, Jr., so good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vmcgilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food & srvice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Eight people, bill under $150 (including alcohol) great food & service. A bit impersonal, but maybe I was expecting a 5-star experience...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hibachi was horrrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Over priced, stingy with the white sauce and was wayyy to expensive for the little portion that i paid for

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ohtyoutilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just As Recommended -- Amazing Sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ichiban's sushi was recommended to us by a college student who was working the front desk of the hotel we were staying. The sushi and ambiance was just as he described -- Amazing! Some of the rolls were good ol standards and some were unique (including a Kentucky roll for those in your party who prefer chicken to fish) but all were exceptional! The taste of the rice, freshness of the fish and vegetables, flavor of the sauces, and table presentation made for sushi of the finest quality. The appetizers were also very good -- with many unique items that will make you wanting for more. Oh and bringing young children who aren't yet interested in sushi -- not problem they have a child's menu with the staples of every young person's pallet. Everything made in this small but intimate sushi restaurant was of finest quality and exceptional taste -- at a price that will not break your budget.

Ichiban is small family owned place in a strip center right next to USF by MOSI. We arrived at 7 and walked right in, but as typical for a college oriented place, by the time we left at 8:30 it was packed with others waiting. They have a variety of tables, booths, and even 2 tables on the floor.

Unfortunately we live too far away to make this our regular sushi restaurant, but luckily we live close enough that we can make regular trips for really good sushi. One visit to Ichiban and you will be craving a return visit -- we already are!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathiewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good place for sushi and sashimi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We go here from time to time. Tonight we went with another couple. I remembered from the last time we went that a person ordered sukiyaki and said it was so full of gristle, he could not eat it. He did not send it back, but just ate his soup and salad. We warned them about the beef. I want to say that the sushi and sashimi were excellent and the person who ordered the chicken teryaki was happy with that. I would say that this is a very good place to eat if you don't order a beef dish. The prices are reasonable and the service is very good. The meals come with miso soup, salad and rice. Dinner is less than $20 a person and you can save an extra dollar per meal by coming between 5:30 and 6:30 for the early bird

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing