We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fun”

Columbia Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #28 of 2,912 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $48
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Cross street: 21st street
Description: Open 365-days a year, including all holidays. Serving lunch & dinner daily. Reservations accepted. Casual attire is fine, but we don't allow sleeveless shirts on men. In addition to award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine, the Columbia features flamenco dance performances nightly, Monday - Saturday. The Hernandez Gonzmart family has been making restaurant history since 1905 when they opened their landmark Columbia Restaurant, which today is Florida's Oldest RestaurantSM. Today, 4th & 5th generation family members work hard to preserve the family's legacy that their great-grandfather Casimiro Hernandez, Sr. created more than 114 years ago when he opened the Columbia as a corner café frequented by local cigar workers. Our guests enjoy many of the same century-old family recipes that have made the Columbia famous like Paella "a la Valenciana," Red Snapper "Alicante," and the Original Cuban Sandwich. Don't miss Columbia's Original "1905" Salad(R), prepared tableside.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten at several of their locations and they deliver everytime. Always professional and always great food. If you have never been you are truly missing out. One of the great classic restaurants.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 5,909 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was amazing and the waiter Dan made great sugestion on which foods try. The frozen wine drink, very smooth and refreshing. Black bean soup was more like a meal with rice, very nicely seasoned. Blue crab cakes, large amount of fresh crab. Great fresh hot home made bread !

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Paradise630159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a classic in Tampa but every time I come for dinner, the experience is diminished. High prices, ok service, lame drinks and lame show. I will not return here.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 822jfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Been here a couple of times, very over priced and all the food I have had has been average. the location is great but cant make up for the poor food and high cost

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I'm vegetarian and they had some selections. I tried the Gazpacho Soup and I will never eat it again. Again, the soup may be good, you need to have a taste for it. It was fresh and as per the documented menu but I am not designed for it. The beans were great and the bread was the best in the world. Drinks were great as well. For the meat-eaters, there are a ton of choices. Overall it is a great restaurant to eat/hang out.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sridhar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing