We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu suitable for all and great for large parties”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 2,398 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N Manhattan Avenue
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Menu suitable for all and great for large parties”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Group of six and had a great meal starting with some wonderful sushi rolls. Everyone enjoyed their meal and I ordered from the chef's special and it was superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    108
    52
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Average”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I visited Roys on a Thursday night, 6pm reservations. They offer complimentary valet parking but it wasnt busy so we parked ourselves. It is an upscale place, cloth napkins, pull out chairs and place napkins in your lap, etc. We california rolls, lobster pot stickers, and split a fish trio. I am 1/2 japanese so I may be pickier than some on taste. On the trio only one piece of fish was not over cooked. The apps were okay not knock your socks off. My husband and I though the menu was lacking in hawaiian type dishes, since the name includes hawaiian. The wait staff was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
215 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS, FRESH, INNOVATIVE”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I had the Lobster Pot Stickers, Halibut steak over fresh Spätzle with veggies and Chocolate souffle. The food was fantastic. The service was friendly and superb. Great wine list. My plates looked like they had been through the dishwasher when I was finished. You must try Roy's when you are in this area of Tampa. I highly recommend Roy's and I would definitely head back there again and again and again and ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurphDaSurf1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oasis ”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Roy's in Tampa has great food and terrific service. I was there alone and it was very busy but the bartenders took care if me like royalty. I noticed they did that for everyone. The tempura was best u have ever had. Light and fresh not that breaded mess you might imagine. Butterfish was out of this world as was the dessert and drinks. Everything was very well done. In my opinion this is a top spot among other restaurants with great reputations and higher prices. Go there for fun and being your appetite. You will not be disappointed :)

Helpful?
Thank Cmehavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Best Meal in Town”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The service could not have been better. Our food was delicious and nicely presented. I'd recommend this place to anyone that likes Hawaiian / Asian food!

Helpful?
Thank Eduman4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing