We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty & Nice Environment”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 2,400 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N Manhattan Avenue
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Tasty & Nice Environment”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our second visit to this location in Tampa. We've also eaten at this restaurant in Hawaii. We actually like the food in Tampa better. The menu's are not the same.

I like how this restaurant is decorated. Modern and warm.

All tables start with a serving of Roy's Edamame which are made with their special recipe. They are delicious. We then split a Cesar Salad which bis served with freshly made & warm croutons. I wish I had gotten a full salad just for the croutons! They are the best I've ever had.

We each got one of the Mixed Plates options, ROY’S TRIO: Hibachi Salmon, Macadamia, Crusted Mahi & Misoyaki Butterfish with steamed sticky rice ($32.95). Each one was delicious and each prepared with its own sauce. I loved them all but the Butterfish was my favorite. On our next trip I think I'll just get the Butterfish.

For dessert I had Blueberry Sorbet. The waiter said it is not made in house but bought from a place that makes it from scratch. I would go back just for the sorbet ($7.95). It had fresh blueberries throughout it and tasted great. There were also fresh blueberries served with it. For me it was the perfect dessert.

Our service was very good but not the best I've ever had. When asked a question our server was great but he did not offer a lot otherwise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    108
    52
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A little underwhelmed”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had very high expectations as I entered Roy's Hawaiian Fusion in Tampa. I read the reviews, and on the flight to Florida sat next to a local, originally from Hawaii, who used to be a regular at Roy's original location (when Roy was the chef!), and now frequents the Tampa Roy's. I guess there was so much hype that I was expecting something magical, and it just didn't happen. I had the Chef's Trio of Hibachi Salmon, Macadamia Crusted Mahi & Misoyaki Butterfish. Although the Butterfish was very good, the Salmon was overcooked, and the Mahi had little flavor. The meal in general seemed uninspired, and it's really a shame when there seemed to be so much promise. Is it better than the myriad of other places we could have eaten? Yes. Is the service great? Yes. For these reasons I gave Roy's an overall Very Good. Was it all I expected it to be? Unfortunately, no.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Global-track
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good sushi dishes!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I travel quite a bit, and Roy's is especially good everywhere I go. The one in Vegas is phenomenal, and this one is no exceptoin. Very tasty sushi...fresh and hawaiin inspired. The martini's are a delicious combination that wettens the appetite. I'll be back next week!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seas0nedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went here for dinner on a business trip. We were a large group from out of town and just dropped in without reservations during the dinner hour. We were seated quickly. The food took a little while to get to us, but the food was amazing. AMAZING! This place ruined the rest of our trip for me b/c we didn't eat anywhere else that was even close to being as good. The atmosphere was really nice, too. It would be a good place to go on a date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usafgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pineapple upside down soufflé”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

See the title? Order it. Sure the chocolate sounds amazing, just get the pineapple one. It's not too much, it's just right.

Everything we had here was perfect. It is pricey, but worth every dime. It's a special occasion kinda place.

Service was superb. The waiter was friendly and attentive. He was really good with the children too. Speaking of the kids, the kids meals come with a lot of food. I would even suggest having 2 kids split a meal.
Another thing I love about this place is thy they have my favorite beer on tap. Longboard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teast0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing